+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Project Design

  1. #11
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Ok, I'm a little confused about the structure. I defined a template as the default (Manufacturing_Metric.dwt), and now when I create a new drawing, it starts with that template, which happens to contain an entire title block. I assume that is good, but doesn't quite make sense. I thought a template would contain only drawing settings and no drawing elements, since I understood that a title block drawing would be referenced in anyway. Are the canned templates the wrong thing to be using in this case?


    Also, once I have the drawing open, it is a viewed as a big, white drawing of the title block as I would see it plotted out. This is "paper space", right? There is a "model" button next to it, and when I draw a couple of elements in it, I see them appear magically in my paper space. That's all good. But when I click the plus sign and open a layout window, I get another white space that displays large versions of the two elements I just drew, but no title block. What is the purpose of this layout tab?


    Btw, I was able to set up a SQLServer connection and browse a database through the dbconnect window in AutoCAD, so I'll be working on populating some labels next, but I need to understand this drawing hierarchy a little better. Thanks!

  2. #12
    Super Member nukecad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nukecad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 10 home.
    Computer:
    Various machines.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NW Cumbria (English Lake District)
    Posts
    698

    Default

    There are many different ways of working with Autocad, ask 12 Autocad users and you'll probably get 12 different answers.

    I have always had a border block, with attributes for drawing number, issue,title, etc., in the papersapace of my templates.
    Along with other saved definitions for layers, dimensions ,etc, etc. set up). That way each drawing has its own drawing border.

    PS. A paperspace is also known as a 'Layout' which is what is says on a new layout tab. More about this later.

    You can do it the other way and x-ref in a border, that way if you change the border it changes in every drawing it gets xrefed into.
    (I never liked that method, because it means a drawing can change in appearence without any revision letter).

    So from what you describe you seem to have a template with a border block in paperspace, this has a 'Viewport' through into modelspace.

    You draw elements in modelspace and they show in the viewport in paperspace.

    You can have more than one viewport in your paperspace, showing different parts of the modelspace, maybe at different scales (for enlarged details, etc.).

    You can have more than one paperspace (layout), as you have found, by clicking the '+' and opening a new layout tab.

    This means that you can have different paperspaces, with different borders in each, showing different parts of the geometry from modelspace, all saved as one file.
    (So you can have a whole project of many drawings all saved as one file).

    When you come to plot your drawing(s) you plot from paperspace at 1:1 scale, which makes plotting much easier.

    Then it gets to questions like- where should you dimension things?
    Some dimension in modelspace, some dimension in paperspace.
    It all depends on just what kind of drawing you are producing, how you organise your workflow, and what works best for you.

    (Some still insert a drawing border into modelspace, enlarging it as necessary, it's the old way of using CAD but it's not considered the best practice nowadays)

    As I say, everyone has their own way of using Autocad.
    Because it is so flexible it does not dictate any 'best' or 'correct' way to do things, it lets you work in the way that is best for you and your business.
    This does mean it can be a bit confusing to get to grips with at first though.

    PS.
    If you would like to see the sort of drawing templates that I use the you can find a set here:
    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...l=1#post677649
    From what you describe in your previous post the one that you have made is similar to these.
    *** Out of Beer Error ->-> Recovering Memory***

  3. #13
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,748

    Default

    Cindycad it sounds like you need some basic Autocad training. Autocad has a series of tutorials installed when you install. type help and it should point in the right direction.

    Re using layouts search here for "tutorial layouts" this is some links to some really good ones. See if you can get hold of a good Autocad book dont worry about if its not about 2018 anything say 2013 on should be good, try KINDLE it has Autocad books and they are real cheap. I paid $8 for a book.

    Do you know someone who has been using Autocad maybe you could spend some time with them, a lot of schools run classes as well.

    Re new layout was the Title block in the layout ? Click on the layout should be Layout1 and right button click choose COPY, To end. You will find the new layout now has the title block as well. I Have 4 dwt's they all have different settings from a full blown with everything in it to what we call Blank which has as much removed as possible.

    Its just that the posts are going to get longer and longer if posters try to train via Cadtutor, but I am still happy to help.
    Attached Images
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #14
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I have done tutorials and read through tons of help, but that only gets you so far. For instance, Nukecad's post above cleared up more questions about layouts than all of the tutorials I viewed did. The problem was that every tutorial I saw about making templates always described making a title block, but that didn't jive with the poster who said I could xref a title block into my drawings. Now I'm understanding it much better, and all the posts have been very helpful and succinct. Trust me, I'm doing a lot more research in the background, but I like deferring to the experts right here that use this stuff every day. The main thing I’m trying to prevent is creating the drawings for the system I'm designing, only to find out I then need to go back through 120 pages and manually edit something stupid that should have been accounted for in the beginning. It's all about planning right now.


    Right now I'm still slogging through a procedure for linking external data to my drawings for populating labels. I thought I would be able to connect directly to SQLServer, and I was able to make a db connection, but it appears that doing things like running queries and binding to table data requires AutoCAD Architectural. So now I wrote an app to export by SQL data to a CSV file and will try it that way, as someone noted above. That is an extra step, but no big deal. I'm sure I'll have questions.


    Thanks!

  5. #15
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CincyCad View Post
    I have done tutorials and read through tons of help, but that only gets you so far. For instance, Nukecad's post above cleared up more questions about layouts than all of the tutorials I viewed did. The problem was that every tutorial I saw about making templates always described making a title block, but that didn't jive with the poster who said I could xref a title block into my drawings. Now I'm understanding it much better, and all the posts have been very helpful and succinct. Trust me, I'm doing a lot more research in the background, but I like deferring to the experts right here that use this stuff every day. The main thing I’m trying to prevent is creating the drawings for the system I'm designing, only to find out I then need to go back through 120 pages and manually edit something stupid that should have been accounted for in the beginning. It's all about planning right now.


    Right now I'm still slogging through a procedure for linking external data to my drawings for populating labels. I thought I would be able to connect directly to SQLServer, and I was able to make a db connection, but it appears that doing things like running queries and binding to table data requires AutoCAD Architectural. So now I wrote an app to export by SQL data to a CSV file and will try it that way, as someone noted above. That is an extra step, but no big deal. I'm sure I'll have questions.


    Thanks!
    Be reminded that we have a programming/customization section in this forum. Lots of highly skilled programmers frequent that portion of this message board, so don't hesitate to jump over there for more programming related approaches.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #16
    Super Member nukecad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nukecad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 10 home.
    Computer:
    Various machines.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NW Cumbria (English Lake District)
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CincyCad View Post
    The main thing I’m trying to prevent is creating the drawings for the system I'm designing, only to find out I then need to go back through 120 pages and manually edit something stupid that should have been accounted for in the beginning. It's all about planning right now.
    Ah, but as you are finding out, setting up your cad standards and project management standards is a bit like what you are already used to with software engineering - when you write code it never compiles right first time out, you do your best but you always end up going back and redoing something.
    With time you keep finding things that you could have done better and so refine it until you get it just as you want it to work.

    It's just the same with getting your cad standards and management exactly as you want it.
    (And then you'll change your mind, or start working in a different discipline, or for a different company, and it's all change again).

    I'm afraid it's just part of life, we can plan things as much as we like, but we can miss things, and we can learn new things that change the way we would have planned it if we knew them back then.

    The best we can do is to get something that works for us at the time, - and then spend the time to change it later when we feel what we have learned makes it worth spending the time.
    *** Out of Beer Error ->-> Recovering Memory***

  7. #17
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Oh yes, I understand that, and I know I will miss things. But I want to start off on the right foot so that fixing a screw up is as painless as possible. For instance, if it wasn't for you guys, I might have had a unique title block for each drawing, but now if the customer wants some additional info, I know I can just change my title block drawing, link to some data in an excel spreadsheet, and fix it in short order.


    But I also know that ten years from now I will look back on my first effort like I look back at my first code I wrote in 1990. It wasn't pretty.

  8. #18
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Lee Mac certainly might have some helpful information or lisps on his site.
    When in doubt check Lee Mac out!

    http://www.lee-mac.com/index.html
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  9. #19
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yes, BIGAL posted a link to that site previously. Very interesting. Once I get going, I'll experiment with some scripts to automate some tasks. I'm just making a bunch of tedious electrical drawings after all, so much of it is repetitious.

  10. #20
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,748

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Making csv files will make your search for some repetitious answers so much easier. Reading a line and convert to a number of variables will be one of the first lisp to add to your library lisp, like a good programmer having common functions at you finger tips makes life so much easier.

    Here is an example of loading a lisp when required returns 2 values from a simple dialouge box, its loaded individually as its not a common one used everyday.
    Code:
    (if (not AH:getval2) (load "getvals3"))
    (ah:getval2 "Please enter Pit L m: " 6 5 "0.9" "Please enter Pit W  " 6 5 "0.6")
    You need to post a request for one of the tasks you do repetitiously it may have already been answered.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Autodesk Project Dreamcatcher Goal Directed Design
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th Nov 2014, 06:30 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Aug 2011, 10:09 pm
  3. Raudel solis Interior Design Project 5
    By Raudel Solis in forum Infrastructure, Architecture & Landscape Visualisation
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 9th Jun 2011, 04:05 am
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Sep 2009, 05:41 pm
  5. BSRIA Project Design Stages
    By Mrs M in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th Nov 2007, 04:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts