Bentley ProSteel for AutoCAD

guitarguy1685

I have been using ProSteel for about 2 years.

What sort of work are you interested in doing?

Lamensterms is another current forum member who has been using it for 6 or 7 years.

We use it for our projects now. There are still some things we choose to do using plain Autocad.

Watching it churn out fabrication drawings is pretty amazing, because it spits out hundreds of drawings in a few minutes.

Whereas I used to draw them, with a coworker, now I pretty much just check them.

Really speeds up the delivery of workable drawings to our suppliers in China, and reduces the likelihood of human induced errors.

There is an Autocad version of this, called Advanced Steel, which might be more intuitive for someone coming from an Autodesk mindset.

It does all the same stuff, but the logic is more like Autocad.

Check it out, download a free 30 day trial and take it around the block to see what it can do.

3D Modeling certainly goes a lot more quickly, and assemblies contain BOMs.

Some of the ways in which things are approached in Bentley think (having been weaned on Autocad), seem quite convoluted and counter-intuitive.

So here is the situation. My company has an engineering office in the US and in Germany. All of our detailers in Germany use ProSteel, our US does not. I'm in the US. One person in the US knows it fairly well and I only use it to drop in Beams or custom extrusions. I was asked to learn ProSteel more in-depth and help our US office to transition to it.

I agree that ProSteel can seem counter-intuitive and convoluted. This is why I steered clear of it except for Beams. However, I'm told the capabilities aside from 3D are pretty awesome. Namely creating your piece drawings and generating BoM.