+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Sweep Me Not

  1. #11
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ROBP View Post
    Yes just getting the hang of Mep for now but i had 2014 full 4 years ago and i recall that the sweep did work at the time.
    Hopefully you where able to open it i can do a save to earlier version if needed just let me know i will repost.

    Btw the handrail at the right far side need to follow the landing and will need to be reworked and be raised to match the height to follow like the first landing one on the left.

    Best

    Robert

    Awaiting your correction and will sweep again no problem
    The fact that you were able to sweep this intrigued me, so I revisited it, with Autocad 2013.
    I saw no reason why a vertical could handle this, but Vanilla could not.
    I noticed that Bill's region (which struck me as an odd choice) for the handrail profile was not symmetrical, so I redrew it with a closed Polyline.
    I found that unless I clicked on the Alignment option and DECLINED it, that it would rotate the profile during the sweep.

    I also used PE (polyline edit) on the spline, which converted the spline path to a 3D Polyline.
    Then it swept fine.
    This is not to imply, that I disagree with your earlier assessment regarding the path, as I do agree with you.
    Attached Images
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Dadgad; 1st May 2017 at 05:39 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  2. #12
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,448

    Default

    As a bit of an ‘aside’:

    You’ll notice that every sweep posted to this thread has a mild twist to one end or another. As mentioned previously, only sweeping a circle will hide this twist.

    I think changes of direction within a sweep need to be restricted to one orthographic plane at a time. If that’s true, both sides of the landing area need modification. A slight transition zone, as can be seen for any curve type in my attachment, allows sweeping along the span without twisting.
    Attached Files

  3. #13
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Very interesting Sean, right you are, I hadn't checked, nor noticed that slight rotation.
    I did check, and swept all three of your paths, and they worked properly, without incident!

    I won't pretend to understand it, but I can certainly confirm what I see.

    Might this problem be addressed with the TWIST mid command options, BANK or EXPRESSION?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  4. #14
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,448

    Default

    I don't think there is anything that can be done while using 3DPolys. Based on what AutoCAD has to do at a junction/miter, use the same incoming section for the outgoing section, a change of direction accompanied by a elevation change will always produce a twist.

    I'm not so certain about splines. Does the mid command twist allow some sub-division of the path? I don't have time to check now but my initial assumption would be that it doesn't. The Loft command, with guides that force the profile along paths that stay aligned, would work. But that creates more work for the set-up. In light of that my two transitional zones aren't so bad.

  5. #15
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Tillman View Post
    R.... vs mine which is AutoCAD 2014 Professional...
    What is this "AutoCAD Professional"? I've never heard of it.
    Can you post a screen capture?
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

Similar Threads

  1. Sweep
    By Lentezza in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2013, 06:07 pm
  2. Unable to sweep object when attempting helical sweep for pipe thread
    By eKretz in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th Dec 2012, 02:26 pm
  3. Why can't I sweep this?
    By the downing effect in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2012, 03:32 am
  4. Always Use Sweep 90's
    By Kremer in forum MEP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Jan 2011, 09:36 pm
  5. Sweep
    By ausmods in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12th May 2009, 12:11 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts