+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    First image shows the hex head as it originally appeared and after it has been correctly resized to the proper width of 1.125". However, since the measurement scale factor of 0.66666666667 has not been changed it is dimensionaly incorrect after the rescaling.

    meas_scale_fac0.666.JPG
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Second image shows what happens after changing the measurement scale factor back to "1" which it should be.

    meas_scale_fac_1.JPG
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Yes thank you ! that fixed it !

    Is it possible that because I copy/pasted 2 drawings together the dimstyles were modified? because I didn't change the measurement scale.

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    I have no idea how it may have happened.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Great I'll be looking out for measurement scales!

    Thank you so much for your help ReMark!

  6. #16
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Units.PNG

    First thing I notice is that your document units are currently Feet.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  7. #17
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I have no idea how it may have happened.
    This is a textbook example of how much more helpful a .dwg is than a screenshot!

    Well done gentlemen!

    What are the typical UNITS in which you work?
    Last edited by Dadgad; 4th May 2017 at 03:02 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  8. #18
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by xoHaya View Post
    Yes thank you ! that fixed it !

    Is it possible that because I copy/pasted 2 drawings together the dimstyles were modified? because I didn't change the measurement scale.
    Nope.

    New layers and styles copied over (by copying objects with those layers and styles) will come in unchanged, unless they are named the same as stuff already in the receiving drawing, in which case they will adopt the properties of the receiving drawing. Existing layers and styles in the receiving drawing are never modified or replaced simply by copying pieces of another drawing into it.

    The uniqueness of all layers and styles are preserved from damage by copying or inserting things into a drawing. The lists just get longer.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. set the units of imported xref to be equal to the host drawing's units
    By samifox in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th Jan 2016, 11:27 pm
  2. Wrong Scale, Wrong Units IDK???
    By snakeyes in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2014, 03:55 pm
  3. wrong drawing units
    By rosswhiteeca in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2014, 05:14 pm
  4. Wrong scale on my Xref drawing
    By mightythor in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2011, 07:56 pm
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th Nov 2010, 07:54 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts