+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: plot plan

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    9

    Default plot plan

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi i got a plot plan to redraw in autocad, but something looks off with the bearings. I know bearing usually looks like this S30D57'08"E but the bearings on the plan looks like this N19d36'47" there is not direction at the end of it.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Is there a north arrow on the plot plan?

    You only have two directional choices, east or west, pick one and start drawing then see what happens.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    9

    Default

    yes there is a north arrow

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    9

    Default

    heres a image of the plot plan
    Attached Images

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,045

    Default

    I would suggest that they are whole circle bearings (as used in some parts of the world), but written with the preceding N by someone who is not totally convinced that they know what they are doing!

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    9

    Default

    How would i type those coordinates into the command line?

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,045

    Default

    One of the simpler ways of using whole circle bearings is to set the angle system such that zero degrees is at North and the angles go clockwise.

    Then just enter the bearing (without the initial N) and distance.

    I can't see the figures in your picture, so can't check if that works for your case.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    9

    Default

    can i email the drawing. i really would like to understand this.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,045

    Default

    I don't know if you can post the drawing on the forum. There may be others who can help. Here in the UK it is closing down time for me.

  10. #10
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If I understand everything covered so far, here is the procedure.

    Use the UNITS command to open your Drawing Units window. Put a check mark in the "Clockwise" box under Angle. Press the Direction button at the bottom, set "Base Angle" to North, press OK. Press OK to close the Units window.

    Pick a point along your border. If there's a Point of Beginning, use that. Follow the border clockwise (or counterclockwise if that's obviously wrong). Start a line or polyline. For each segment, type @D<A where D=distance and A=angle. The last segment should end at the beginning (typically it's off by a fraction), but if it doesn't, look for a segment you missed or mistyped.

    Open the Units window again and restore your settings.

    If that doesn't work, tell us where it went off the rails. I recommended in another thread that you xref it into your drawing temporarily as a guide.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

Similar Threads

  1. Copy Plot configuration...to many plan at once?
    By bono05 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th Sep 2016, 10:28 am
  2. Printing Very Very Very Wide plot plan to TIFF
    By ttray33y in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd Jul 2015, 03:27 am
  3. Google Earth in overall plot plan
    By CCHESTER in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2010, 08:14 pm
  4. Plot on A4 an A0's plan
    By Syl20.h in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2008, 02:52 am
  5. Floor plan won't plot
    By pennylove in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2006, 03:30 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts