+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member CadYouDigIt's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12

    Default Importing PDF files into Cad

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Recently I have been importing the pdfs we get from clients and attaching them as an image into autocad, and then having to go through the trouble of tracing out each line.

    I am curious if there is a way to already have the lines drawn out? This would save me a lot of time!

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    It sounds like you are looking for a PDF to DWG conversion program or something similar. Is that correct?

    One option is to use a free vector program such as Inkscape to import vector PDF's then save them as a DXF. I think something similar can be done using Adobe Illustrator. AutoCAD 2018 has the PDFIMPORT command whereby the user can import PDF data as 2D geometry and it will also import TrueType text and images.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    AutoCAD 2018 has the PDFIMPORT command whereby the user can import PDF data as 2D geometry and it will also import TrueType text and images.
    I second this information. If your company has access to AutoCAD 2017 full version, you can do this entirely through AutoCAD if the PDF is in vector form. It works very well. Granted, it's not perfect, but certainly does the job for most needs.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,536

    Default

    One point on the AutoCAD PDFIMPORT, the PDF has to be a true vector PDF and not a scanned PDF. But 3rd motion for this great tool now included in AutoCAD.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  5. #5
    Junior Member CadYouDigIt's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Most of our pdfs do come in true vector PDFs.. most of the time. So I guess I will have to try this command on our other computers! Thanks a bunch guys!

Similar Threads

  1. Importing Multiple MIF/MID Files
    By freeclimb27 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st Dec 2015, 03:15 pm
  2. Is there Layer State Manager for importing LAS files into multiple files?
    By kili in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2014, 12:55 am
  3. Importing Files to Rhino 4.0
    By ak09acr in forum Rhino
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd Aug 2012, 10:57 am
  4. importing 3ds files into each other?
    By br0604bom in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Sep 2010, 12:36 am
  5. Importing pre v8 DGN files in Cad '08
    By Multiscan01 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Jan 2008, 07:34 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts