+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default Import Pipes Name from Excel

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It is any way to Import Pipes names from Excel To Civil 3d?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    I have moved your question to the Civil 3D section: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/forumd...vil-3D-amp-LDD
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,130

    Default

    As far as I know, the only type of data you can import from Excel is points. Even if you could get pipe names from another file, I'm not sure how you'd know which name went with which pipe. Unless you gave the two ends of the pipe, but then you'd have to identify the entities at the ends.

    You could probably write a VBA script to assign pipe names, but the same dilemma happens. Which name goes with which pipe? Unless your project involves several hundred pipes, or you're a VBA whiz, it may take less time to enter the names manually.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    Ahmed Elsaabbagh Have a look at Pipesample.dvb may have the answers its buried deeply in c:\program files\Autodesk\civ 3d ....... You may be able using the VBA code as a guide to write a Lisp version also.

    Cyberangel getting into the civ3d database can be quite difficult but contrary to your "only import points" that is if you are using "IMPORT" if you go via programming you should be be able to carry out so many procedures via reading excel info, it is about knowing what data you can get at easily using lisp or .net

    Older versions like 2012 had a lot more example code for doing things in VLISP etc under the CIV3DAPI, make surface models, pipenetwork, to mention a couple.

    One of the horrors with CIV3d is a lack of throw the data out and bring it back in all filled in. Dont mention styles and the 101 answers required. We have one piece of software and it exports to excel and brings back, it is much quicker to fill in that way than doing on screen in the original software and check for input errors as you go.
    Last edited by BIGAL; 25th May 2017 at 11:14 am.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,130

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    Cyberangel getting into the civ3d database can be quite difficult but contrary to your "only import points" that is if you are using "IMPORT" if you go via programming you should be be able to carry out so many procedures via reading excel info, it is about knowing what data you can get at easily using lisp or .net
    I stand corrected. At my current job I don't have C3D. No way to check my answers except by Web search. For the obscure stuff I have to rely on my memory, which is not what it used to be.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    I do admit we dont use the PIPES inside civ3d so I am not sure about the original question as what the poster was really after in data input time saving, but answered the question as a more it can possibly be done.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I really think everyone how tray to help me, what I need exactly is showing serial labels on the pipe, the DWG is already finished with random names... now we can export all network data with lisp COT and modified it, can we import it again to CIVIL 3D ? This only proposel to save time..

  8. #8
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I dont use the drainage software so post a small dwg so some of us can interrograte it.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Using LISP to Import From Excel
    By Bill Tillman in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2015, 12:40 pm
  2. Import excel spreadsheet?
    By Evelynn in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2014, 03:01 am
  3. Import polygons from excel
    By omandgulf in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2013, 04:35 am
  4. Import Excel to DWGPROPS
    By cmangi86 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2013, 04:54 pm
  5. import attribute to excel
    By rovinemarvic in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Jun 2010, 01:23 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts