+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Scaling

  1. #1
    Junior Member CadYouDigIt's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12

    Default Scaling

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey guys, I am going to try and explain this as best as I can, hopefully it makes sense,

    If I have a drawing made, and I want it to be scaled 1:500 on a 24:36 sheet of paper so that I can take a scale ruler after it is printed, and it be correct, how do I do this?
    All of the lines on the cad drawing are correct.

    Thanks! If I was unclear, I'll try and elaborate more.

  2. #2
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    Typically, you create a viewport in paper space. Give the viewport the scale you want. Lock it. Slap a title block on there and you're done.

    Edit: oh wait, can you do that in LT?
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  3. #3
    Junior Member CadYouDigIt's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12

    Default

    My problem is when i click 1:100 for example, it zooms in way too far, I remember doing this in school and it wasn't too difficult.

  4. #4
    Junior Member CadYouDigIt's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Not sure, I will attempt this on another computer with full autocad.

  5. #5
    Junior Member CadYouDigIt's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I am also curious as to how to create my own scale, 1:400 for example

  6. #6
    Junior Member CadYouDigIt's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CadYouDigIt View Post
    I am also curious as to how to create my own scale, 1:400 for example
    disregard this comment

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You can do this even using LT.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,685

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    Typically, you create a viewport in paper space. Give the viewport the scale you want. Lock it. Slap a title block on there and you're done.

    Edit: oh wait, can you do that in LT?
    Yes, you can.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #9
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,685

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CadYouDigIt View Post
    My problem is when i click 1:100 for example, it zooms in way too far, I remember doing this in school and it wasn't too difficult.
    Keep in mind what the scale ratio is telling you. 1:100 is saying one paperspace unit (either millimeters or inches) equals one hundred modelspace units. So, if your modelspace units are also millimeters, then one millimeter in the viewport will represent only 100 millimeters, and that would be zoomed in way too far if for instance your model happens to be a building that is 100 meters long.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  10. #10
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,745

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Like above go to a layout draw a rectang 36x24 offset it say .75
    MVIEW pick the two corners of the inner rectang
    double click go inside viewport
    z e your model space should fill sheet
    I have the viewports tool bar displayed so pick 1:500 pan around carefully or do agian pick 1:500
    Double click outside of outside rectang or do Pspace
    Plot outside rectang at 1=1 using window and pick bot left, top right plot scale using a 36x24 sheet
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Scaling 1:200?
    By TRB in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Mar 2015, 09:47 am
  2. Axis scaling: Scaling parts of an object, but not the whole thing
    By jpaulgayjr in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2014, 08:15 pm
  3. i need help in scaling
    By trini lawrence in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 31st Mar 2013, 05:57 pm
  4. Scaling to plot and scaling bar
    By john551 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2009, 06:01 pm
  5. Scaling Help
    By AMB4311 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st Aug 2008, 09:09 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts