+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2018 conversion

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    SRN's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Kentucky , USA
    Posts
    25

    Default 2018 conversion

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    we were just forced into upgrading to 2018 from 2015LT. However some machines still run the old software. Now anyhting that is saved on a machine running 2018 will not be opened by 2015LT because "it was created in a newer version of AutoCAD. is there any way to stop 2018 from autoconverting the files, or to save them in a file format previous versions can open?

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,055

    Default

    In the save dialogue box, you have the field for the name, and below that should be a drop down menu to save back to any previous version you want, it has always been that way I doubt that has changed, 2018 has brought with it a new file system so indeed anything older won't be able to open the newer file type, but you always have the option to save back. Failing that Trueview (2018 ) will also save any newer files back to an older format.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    SRN's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Kentucky , USA
    Posts
    25

    Default

    thanks steven. should have thought of that but got so used to the quick save button using someone else's file name because they still wanted it called that when they got it back updated...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,549

    Default

    You can set 2018 to autosave as 2015, always by default.
    Options - Open and Save tab. 1st section down.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,703

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SRN View Post
    thanks steven. should have thought of that but got so used to the quick save button using someone else's file name because they still wanted it called that when they got it back updated...
    The conversion doesn't re-name it by default, but you can manipulate the name field as you choose before hitting the save button.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,703

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    You can set 2018 to autosave as 2015, always by default.
    Options - Open and Save tab. 1st section down.
    To be specific, 2013 is the highest save back choice. Same file format 2013 through 2017.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,549

    Default

    Well whichever it needs to be

    Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,703

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    Well whichever it needs to be

    Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk
    yeah, I work with a guy that's been AutoCading since 2000i and he didn't know the file format changes from time to time, much less when.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #9
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,549

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    yeah, I work with a guy that's been AutoCading since 2000i and he didn't know the file format changes from time to time, much less when.
    I have an few older guys that work with me and while they know CAD some of the ways they work just makes me cringe.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  10. #10
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,703

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    I have an few older guys that work with me and while they know CAD some of the ways they work just makes me cringe.
    I could tell you stories.... Same guy. The year is 2015. The software is AutoCad 2008 LT. He used 2002 until 2008.
    The method for xrefing/linking is...
    prtscn hardware info sheets from internet.
    Copy sections of the hard copy architecturals,
    paste the prtscns to MS Paint. Crop/edit. Print it.
    Cut some blank space from around the printed images.
    Tape it to a piece of paper with only a title block printed on it.
    Now comes the fun part.
    Scan it all again, along with several years old re-copies of re-copies of re-copies of hardware cut sheets, and a hard copy of the rest of the project to the server.
    Have an AA convert it to a multi-page pdf.
    email the pdf to the client.
    AND by all means fill the room up with hard copies of all that so the shop guys can come and make more copies for themselves.

    Seriously? This guy was submitting images of cabinet hinges that were so re-copy pixilated and smudged, that they looked like Sweet Gerkin Pickles.

    I quickly, in no uncertain terms, made it clear that I was not going to go through all that. Even though "I have a better way" is the last thing the New Guy should do in the first 24 hours, I did it anyway.
    Within two weeks, I talked the owner into up to date AutoCad versions.
    I gave a short xref class, including IMAGEATTACH and PDFATTACH. For some reason we don't use dwg files from the architect, probably because some charge for them...
    I showed the drafting guy how to handle generating pdf docs from AutoCad, and now it takes him 10 minutes to do what used to take several hours.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. 2018 CAD Linetype Will Not Change
    By DF1127 in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th Jun 2017, 01:27 am
  2. AutoCAD MEP 2018 - Dynamic UCS
    By Atropyne in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2017, 11:06 pm
  3. AutoCAD 2018.0.2 Update
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Apr 2017, 04:09 pm
  4. Autodesk 2018 Products
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Mar 2017, 08:20 pm
  5. AutoCAD 2018 in two minutes
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Mar 2017, 08:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts