+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default Site Survey - Not sure where to start

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    First post, total CAD noobie. Just bought a house, want to get the site survey put into CAD so I can track other things like sprinkler lines, underground electrical, etc.

    I can't make sense of where to start here. My old place was easy, as it was all square with no odd angles. This place is a pie shaped lot and I can't understand the surveyors plan, or how they came to the angles I see.

    See the attached plan. Any advice on where to start?
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    The distances are meters, right?

    I'd suggest bringing the image into AutoCAD using the IMAGEATTACH command then trace over it. Scale the drawing using one of the property lines as a reference.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    hakmawongzi's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MS Windows 10 64 bit
    Computer:
    DELL PRECISION M4500
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 Q720
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX1800M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD Samsung EVO
    Discipline
    Electrical
    hakmawongzi's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Low voltage installer
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Telephone, data and cablevision cabling Security alarm system installation CCTV installation Residential low voltage installation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I would start at the with the circle at the narrow end, follow with the two lines (with bearing indicated) projecting up.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    You can draw the lines using @32.18<115d18'58" draw as many as possible, draw arc from end using the arc length 15.12
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    Map 3D 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Here's a quick trace over. Not too precise as you can see by the dimensions. Siri was a great help in converting meters to feet.

    Maybe you can get it closer for your needs.
    Attached Files

  6. #6
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prince George, Va.
    Posts
    299

    Default

    DeadPoolsUnicorn
    If you get it figured out please post so. Reason -- i am working on it and i think that i may be able to help you.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,715

    Default

    There's no north arrow. I'd start by rotating the image 90 deg cloclwise, and then assume that drawing UP is north.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  8. #8
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prince George, Va.
    Posts
    299

    Default

    ok that did not work. i will have to try something else.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    The information presented does not seem to follow any systematic convention. So this is what I arrived at. But it could equally be rotated by 180 degrees.
    Attached Images

  10. #10
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prince George, Va.
    Posts
    299

    Default sight survey

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    sight survey.dwg

    I hope this worked.

    OK it worked. Now a little information
    It is drawn in .DWG format so that you can download it and work on it with AutoCad.
    Forgot to tag/label the utility line at the rear of the property.
    All of the dimensions are correct -- (some of distances between objeccts are not) -- but you can correct that if you need to.
    If you print out a hard copy you will want to change the color in the text layer of the layer manager (yellow is almost impossible to read on paper)
    Last edited by welldriller; 9th Jul 2017 at 11:39 pm. Reason: To add information

Similar Threads

  1. Site Survey Advice
    By grain in forum AutoCAD LT
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th May 2015, 08:15 am
  2. site survey problem
    By sarah in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2011, 05:01 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts