+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    92

    Default Setting the Base Angle in DraftSight

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi - Using Draftsight in place of AC2000 I am having problems in re-defining the base angle for the purpose of dividing a circle from zero (i.e. 3 O'Clock position) to one of 45 degrees. In AC2000 I do this by selecting Snap/Settings/Angle and change the value from 0 to 45 which has the desired effect. Using DraftSight and selecting Drawing Settings/Unit System/Base Angle and changing the value from O to 45 which I would have thought would be the equivalent action does not have the same effect. Where am I going wrong?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    Strange but the method you describe seems to work for me. Did you click on the Apply button after making your change?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Hi Remark - Thanks for you repy. Yes, I have hit the "Apply" tab but without the required result.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    Well let me do a second test. How about a base angle of 117.356?

    OK...test done. That worked too. To check I draw a line and specify @6<0. The line however is drawn at an angle which equates to 117.356 yet when I check the properties of the line it says angle in XY plane = 0. That's what you are trying to achieve right?

    BTW...I can double check what angle the line is drawn at if the base angle is reset to its default of 0. Turns out the angle is 117.356 degrees.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    Step 1: set base angle.

    base angle 1.jpg

    Step 2: draw line, check properties.

    base angle 2.JPG
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    92

    Default

    I wish to be able to simulate the drilling of 4 holes represented in the drawing by Points on a pcd starting with the base angle set to 45 degrees i.e the first Point or 'hole' to be at the NE position. My test so far has been to draw a circle of any diameter, select DIV/4 and expect to see the resulting points in the 45/135/225/315 locations whereas despsite reseting the base ange to 45 the four points are being drawn at 0/9/180/270. - Hope this helps.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    You could always resort to using Polar Tracking or set SNAPANG to 45.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Yes perhaps - but then why should the re-setting of the base angle approach work using AC200 and not in Draftsight?

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It does work...in both. Just not for you. Rest assured I test before I post.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Setting BASE ANGLE to North - Does not appear to work?
    By Tempest in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2015, 04:33 pm
  2. DraftSight: help drawing rectangle at an angle
    By iii76 in forum Design Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2011, 03:21 pm
  3. Line will not angle in DraftSight?
    By Shiro in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2010, 12:22 am
  4. VB Automation - Setting the drawing base angle ?
    By chill in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Apr 2008, 09:30 pm
  5. Setting base angle 0d00'00" to an arbitrary line ?
    By bledking in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Dec 2007, 08:43 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts