+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    nasoox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon X250 Dual core 3 Ghz
    RAM:
    4Gb DDR3
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5670 1Gb
    Primary Storage:
    Sata II 500 Gb
    Monitor:
    Aoc F22
    Discipline
    Surveying
    nasoox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Details
    Underground mine surveyor
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    22

    Smile How to make 2 surfaces with this data?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Imagine that this image is a simple room, red line conect points for floor (KpXX), black line for top of the room (KkXX) and blue is walls(XX).
    Non of the points have same elevation.
    How to make surface at elevation from points for floor or top and with surface border from points for wall, but that surface does not connect with wall points, those points are just border of that surface.
    Surface is not horizontal, it elevates with defined points like DTM.
    Now when you have those surfaces, how to conect them and make 3D solid or Surface with vertical walls.
    Thank you.Capture111.PNG

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z440
    Discipline
    Civil
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Engineer (CAD Design)
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Just make the (blue) border a closed polyline, extrapolate the height you need (red line minus black line) and EXTRUDE (<- command) the object with the neccesary height?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    nasoox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon X250 Dual core 3 Ghz
    RAM:
    4Gb DDR3
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5670 1Gb
    Primary Storage:
    Sata II 500 Gb
    Monitor:
    Aoc F22
    Discipline
    Surveying
    nasoox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Details
    Underground mine surveyor
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Yeah, only if that was that easy, that "object" have different elevation of all points and bottom and top need to follow that. blue line only defines horizontal area and shape of that bumpy surface. First I need to make surface from points with black line (line just connects points for triangulation) and that surface will go till it reach blue line and then stop, then the same thing with red line, now i would get 2 surfaces, one on top of the other, of same horizontal shape but not same in vertical, il connect them and make solid from that. Extrude does not work good at all with this.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    nasoox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon X250 Dual core 3 Ghz
    RAM:
    4Gb DDR3
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5670 1Gb
    Primary Storage:
    Sata II 500 Gb
    Monitor:
    Aoc F22
    Discipline
    Surveying
    nasoox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Details
    Underground mine surveyor
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    22

    Default

    This is if I can save myself from making bunch of profiles and from doing LOFT command.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z440
    Discipline
    Civil
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Engineer (CAD Design)
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    305

    Default

    They way i would do it without civil 3d is create triangles to create the 2 surfaces (manually or by some command that creates a mesh of some sort). Then use EXTRUDE on those triangles with a vertical direction (you can set the directen when extruding, see command bar).

    Use the upper surface to create an oversize extrusian and use the lower surface to cut the upper solid at the right height.

    It might be easier in some other way, but in this case it would be some 10 minute work to do it manually.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OMEGA-ThundeR View Post
    They way i would do it without civil 3d is create triangles to create the 2 surfaces (manually or by some command that creates a mesh of some sort). Then use EXTRUDE on those triangles with a vertical direction (you can set the directen when extruding, see command bar).

    Use the upper surface to create an oversize extrusian and use the lower surface to cut the upper solid at the right height.

    It might be easier in some other way, but in this case it would be some 10 minute work to do it manually.
    If the OP can provide you with the necessary elevations can you demonstrate this for us? A finished drawing of the object in question with the steps you took to arrive at a solution would be helpful so the OP can attempt to repeat the process on his own and learn by doing. Thanks.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z440
    Discipline
    Civil
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Engineer (CAD Design)
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Sure, i can create something similar myself (principle is the same). hang on

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z440
    Discipline
    Civil
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Engineer (CAD Design)
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    305

    Default

    http://autode.sk/2uEXV4a Here ya go...

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    There was no video to view.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z440
    Discipline
    Civil
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Engineer (CAD Design)
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    it's probably still decoding this thing on the autodesk server or something.... Autodesk screencast .

    Preparing Screencast...

    Our servers are processing your recording right now. Your Screencast should be ready in a few minutes.

    Thanks again for using our service to share your knowledge.
    Aaaand it's up .

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Jul 2016, 12:37 pm
  2. How to make topographic map from survey data?
    By banana1234 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2013, 01:35 pm
  3. How to make a road cross section using xyz data?
    By Zauyamakanda in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2012, 06:15 pm
  4. how can I make 3d non planar surfaces!!
    By kakody1 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2009, 04:53 pm
  5. HOW to make surfaces, etc.?
    By Briancad in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 14th Dec 2007, 01:52 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts