+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 14 of 14
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I think the OP would have better luck with a step-by-step drawing.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OMEGA-ThundeR View Post
    it's probably still decoding this thing on the autodesk server or something.... Autodesk screencast .
    Aaaand it's up .
    I doubt the OP will be able to follow what you did. What vertical product was used?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z440
    Discipline
    Civil
    OMEGA-ThundeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Engineer (CAD Design)
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Just Autocad 2017. And the screencast show exacly what i did. Perhaps we should wait to see if the OP has any questions after this.

    But i smell a hint of "How the hell did he do that, i want to know but i don't want to ask" in your voice

    i do know that the given information in the OP is not enough to create an acurate solid. The red line is only 2 points, you would need at least 3 to create a 'surface'-like surface.
    Last edited by OMEGA-ThundeR; 18th Jul 2017 at 10:01 pm.

  4. #14
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Like Omega-Thunder maybe a guess pick 3 points make a pline, copy that pline down to zero elev removing the z elevation of each point, extrude the original pline up wards height is a dummy, extrude the bottom flat pline past the highest z, use subtract and this will make a solid with vertical sides and a sloping top join all the other extruded triangles this makes the blue shape. Take red line and create a planar solid subtract form blue solid starting to get there.

    Without a dwg a bit hard to test.
    Hopefully this is correct
    1 join 3 points
    2 copy down to zero z all points
    3 extrude over height
    4 ucs 3 pick the 3 points, draw a line end to mid, draw a circle bigger than triangle
    5 extrude circle
    6 subtract circle from extruded triangle = 3d shape
    Attached Images
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Jul 2016, 12:37 pm
  2. How to make topographic map from survey data?
    By banana1234 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2013, 01:35 pm
  3. How to make a road cross section using xyz data?
    By Zauyamakanda in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2012, 06:15 pm
  4. how can I make 3d non planar surfaces!!
    By kakody1 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2009, 04:53 pm
  5. HOW to make surfaces, etc.?
    By Briancad in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 14th Dec 2007, 01:52 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts