+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    neondeon298's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Specialist / NDT
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    38

    Default Arc Length... How do you do it?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Mmmmk. I have to put anomalies into a pipe at certain degrees and locations. I am given the OD, and the OD arc length distance from 0° to the anomaly. So what I do is trig and calculate the degree via "arc length=2πR*(C/360)". Get my angle, draw my line from center.

    Is there any easier way of just placing an arc start point, the radius and how long you want it!?!?!?!
    AutoCAD 2017 btw.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    You can draw an arc of the radius needed, any length. Then use Lengthen command to set to actual length needed.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prince George, Va.
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Do not remember in AutoCad but in DraftSight you can use DRAW -- ARC -- START END RADIUS which i think rkent is telling you.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,051

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    if you are happy doing a bit of calculation, you could streamline getting the angle.

    Divide the arc length by the diameter. This gives the angle in radians which you can enter when drawing your arc. Probably 4 decimal places is enough and put an "r" immediately after the numbers. AutoCAD will understand that the angle is in radians without having to change the angle units.

Similar Threads

  1. Length Isn't Everything.
    By Netminder in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2011, 07:34 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2011, 12:41 pm
  3. Need Lisp to create stock length with Lap length
    By rajeshmuthu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2011, 06:10 pm
  4. Cut Length VS Lay Length of the Pipe
    By DIW_HDsupply in forum MEP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Mar 2011, 05:38 pm
  5. Specifying the arc length of any given arc.
    By rjracad in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2009, 07:41 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts