+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    Solidworks 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default Stretch A Sketch

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi there this is my first post. I am a welder / fabricator.
    my sister has asked me to make her a set of gates & am struggling to get the parts to the correct size, cant get the stretch feature to work properly. I have added a file of the dxf, basically i need to stretch the panel/part to 2120 mm wide x 1075 high.
    Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Regards Paddy.
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,357

    Default

    Scaled up, not stretched. There is a difference.

    This is what it would look like....

    ScaledGate.JPG

    X scale factor = 1.91; Y scale factor = 1.054.

    I created a block of your original design then inserted it back into the drawing using the two scale factors listed.

    Here is a copy for you. It was saved in ACAD 2000 DXF file format.

    Scaled_tree.dxf
    Last edited by ReMark; 1st Aug 2017 at 01:11 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,718

    Default

    Are you using AutoCAD or Solidworks?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    Solidworks 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    AutoCAD 07 & SOLIDWOKRS 14

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    Solidworks 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Not all hereos were capes. ReMark thanks for your help. The dxf is exactly what i need, however i am going to go back and try to make the changes myself using the scale option so i will know for again. You have a good sir.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,357

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you for your kind words. You are entirely welcomed.

    To be clear...first you use the Block command. Once the block is created you use the Insert command to insert it into your drawing. During the insertion process there should be an option to apply a X/Y scale. Normally we want them to be the same. However, in this case, we want them to be different.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Polar Stretch and Linear Stretch don't work together?
    By Asterisk in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2011, 06:35 am
  2. sketch
    By Viktorik in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2011, 03:53 pm
  3. 2D Sketch VS 3D Sketch
    By vertical horizons in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2010, 05:45 pm
  4. Stretch Wont Stretch
    By daveyboyd in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11th Dec 2009, 02:59 am
  5. inventor sketch to autocad sketch posible?
    By matulja87 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2009, 03:11 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts