+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Question Hide or Isolate Objects by Viewport?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all, is there still not a way to use the Isolate or Hide Objects tool in AutoCAD per each viewport? If I have multiple viewports of the same 3D or AEC Objects from modelspace, I'd like for each Viewport to turn off or on certain objects.

    One note: Layer Management cannot do this to the best of my knowledge. Also, my question refers more to AEC Objects from the vertical products, but is still generally asked for normal solids.

    I tried VIEWBASE as an option but it only sees normal solids and not AEC Objects.

    Thanks in advance!

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  2. #2
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,138

    Default

    As far as I know, you still have to put objects on different layers to control their visibility permanently. Can you imagine the complexity of tracking visibility for each object and each viewport?
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    Can you imagine the complexity of tracking visibility for each object and each viewport?
    I can certainly imagine. Revit does it, and it is so simple and easy yet so very effective, and oh how I wish AutoCAD could integrate this almost necessary visibility process.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Let me reiterate that I'm wanting to hide or isolate objects not layers. For instance, a line that is present in one viewport and hidden in another viewport, with no connection to the layer visibility at all.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #6
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    646

    Default

    It is AutoCAD, not Revit, TZ . If we were able to that in AutoCAD what the heck do you need Revit for? ;-)

    If you want 'Objects' to turn invisible in viewports, then place them together in a xref and turn these xref layers off..
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  7. #7
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    All I'm asking if objects can be individually hidden or isolated by Viewport. These commands exist in AutoCAD but this is a drawing-wide command, and we're using AutoCAD MEP on a project which utilizes AEC Objects (<---- "Objects" not Layers, yes in AutoCAD, imagine that). I'm sure there are many other CAD programs besides Revit that can hide objects by View or Viewport.

    All I'm asking if this is possible yet in AutoCAD. As of right now, the answer is no, unless someone knows a workaround or a solution. I'm just asking for a solution in AutoCAD, not a flame war. Thanks in advance.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    Have you tried wipeout ? It can be on 1 layer. Just did a quick test model and layout combos 3 wipeouts, but was not a 3d object.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    Have you tried wipeout ? It can be on 1 layer. Just did a quick test model and layout combos 3 wipeouts, but was not a 3d object.
    Thanks Big Al, definitely a workable alternative but not one I'm willing to implement. I'm using isometric views a lot in this scenario. Thanks for your suggestion, always appreciated!

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I was a bit worried about 3d views. Creating multiple wipeouts as screens very interesting.

    Another thought Pface it must be a plane but you can not see through if you use hide, supports 3dpoints in its creation I know as used it for building pitched roofs and 100% works can not see through roof. All points created in world UCS.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Isolate Objects in Viewport
    By Bthecory in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th Apr 2016, 10:02 am
  2. Is there a way to hide objects behind a viewport?
    By Badgered in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2011, 03:37 am
  3. Double "Hide/isolate objects" is it possible?
    By marmo in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st Jul 2010, 04:45 pm
  4. Isolate OBJECTS per Viewport
    By Jadeous in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2009, 04:45 pm
  5. Isolate Objects in Viewport Command
    By Jadeous in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Mar 2009, 09:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts