+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Here is one to play with.
    Attached Files

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,358

    Default

    Just curious. What version AutoCAD was used to create the drawing? Your profile says one thing; the drawing may indicate something else.

    Well if I draw a rectangular box around your drawing, making it as tight to the geometry as I can the overall dimensions of the box are 18.199 x 9.886 meaning that if you plotted it at a 1:1 scale on a 11x17 piece of paper it wouldn't fit. To make it fit you would have had to chose the "To Fit" option and forego the 1:1 scale.

    With a little tweaking the drawing could be made to fit on an 11x17 and still be done to a 1:1 scale. Just needs a tad bit of massaging.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,716

    Default

    I have real cheap a Canon BJ330 undersize A2 plots oh maybe its broken anyone else remember these a very good printer. My B-W A4 11x7 laser cost $69. Good for filing away tax returns etc.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #14
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,531

    Default

    Well I printed off a section from AutoCAD 2018 to 11x17 paper at 100% and then the same section to an 11x17 PDF and then printed that to 100% scale and saw no difference. Still, one should NEVER scale off a drawing.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  5. #15
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    616

    Default

    In terms tolerance a printer is the least accurate tool a drafter could use. I agree if your tolerance is very tight then dimensions are how it should be done. Now concerning the OP question about printing services using dwg files if it is FedEx, Office, or Staples forget it their printers are never calibrated or tested of accuracy. Most assuredly a graphics shop or a drafting service would the best choice if you have to produce accurate drawings. I would even go so far as to have them print everything for you even if you have your own printer. Printers can be close but when it is in the 1000ths for tolerance they are not even close if they are just a everyday store bought printer.

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,358

    Default

    I think the drawing could be printed fairly accurately at any one of the shops listed above.

    BTW...here is my reworked version of your drawing. BTW...I used a layout (viewport is cyan colored and set to "no print").

    LDB Foldover.jpg
    Last edited by ReMark; 10th Aug 2017 at 05:04 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    616

    Default

    Depending on who you talk too fairly accurate is what a lot of people would accept if they were building a house. But for those that need to be dead center every time then fairly accurate is not acceptable. An accurate drawing will include not only dimensions but the tolerance allowed. That's what makes them accurate.

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,358

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The OP said he wanted someone to be able to take measurements off a 1:1 scale print of his drawing. Given the nature of the drawing he provided there is no way he is going to measure to four decimal places with a scale. Any measurements taken will be well within acceptable limits. And, as previously stated, no one should really be taking "accurate" measurements off of a print anyway.

    BTW....I printed the drawing seen in the image above on our Kyocera office printer which can handle 11x17 sheets. After printing I checked the dimensions using a 12" rule marked off in 32nds of an inch. Everything measured as expected.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2012, 03:24 pm
  2. Sheet Formats
    By spittle in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Dec 2008, 03:14 pm
  3. How autolisp recognizes table cells?
    By oji_d in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Aug 2007, 06:02 am
  4. Converting dwg to different CAD formats?
    By earthtodan in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2007, 10:21 pm
  5. changing formats
    By KadieMills in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th Jan 2007, 04:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts