+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie Darksaber501st's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Darksaber501st's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Water Resources, Large Firm
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Site Development
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4

    Default Help! Dynamic blocks, visibility states, and attribute tags

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi!

    I've current got a point-label block (attached) with 4 separate visibility states, with each state representing a different location for the label relative to the basepoint.

    To accomplish this I have a single attribute definition for the desired label (ID, in block center, always invisible), and 4 additional definitions (upper right, lower right, etc.) in the appropriate locations for each visibility state. I set the default value for those four tags to be the value of the center ID tag via a field. However, when I actually insert the block and update the ID attribute, the attributes in each visibility state only show the default value of the ID field instead of the current value.

    Obviously, I'm relatively new to this, but I hope what I'm trying to accomplish has been adequately described. If anyone knows how I can fix this block to achieve my desired end (the label shows up properly in each visibility state, in the correct location, based on a single entry of the label), please let me know.

    PZLABEL.dwg

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,063

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    There are 2 things going on in your block,
    first change the properties of all the attributes to read Lock Position=yes, this will allow them to show up correctly in each visibility state,
    second turn the ID attribute back to visible in the upper right visibility state (it won't show in the drawing because it's property is invisible),
    Then when you insert the block you will need to alter the visibility state at least once and do a regen before you see it working.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic Blocks - Finding Unused Objects in Visibility States
    By Lawrst in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Mar 2017, 11:02 pm
  2. Dynamic Blocks, Attributes w/ Visibility States, and Attribute Edit
    By rayg11757 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2015, 03:51 pm
  3. Editable Attribute Definitions in Dynamic blocks w/ multiple visibility states
    By Farrit in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2012, 10:39 pm
  4. BLOCKREPLACE with Dynamic Blocks & Visibility States
    By MikeS in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th May 2009, 05:49 pm
  5. Visibility States in Dynamic Blocks
    By GE13579 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2008, 05:08 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts