+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default Need help creating a dynamic block that has a variable array distance for a rectangle

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am working on creating my first dynamic block. So up front I will apologize if this is a no brainer question.

    What I need to accomplish is to have a rectangle that I can change the size of dynamically. That part I have figured out. Where I am getting tripped up is that I need to be able to array the rectangle, but have it add a slight gap between each of them. I would ideally like to have it set up where I can set my rectangle dimension as follows: (these are just my default values, they can change to anything)

    Width = 6'
    Height = 3'
    Gap = .03125'

    From there I could use the dynamic array and it would carry out the array with the gap I specify.

    I can get the array to work with the default values I have entered in, but as soon as I change the Gap value then things get thrown out of whack. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Junior Member markwheeler303's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Do you only need to array it vertically?
    Having a variable array within a dynamic block is not a fuction AutoCAD supports yet.

    There's a few different ways to tackle this. It would be easier to use the standard array command on a dynamic rectangle IMO

    ill give it a crack see what I can come up with.

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic block with stretch & array on two planes, array position errors, please help
    By Stu22 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2016, 03:29 pm
  2. Dynamic block Chained array - force first array object to not show
    By yonderbob in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Feb 2016, 02:01 pm
  3. Variable Array Distance - Dynamic Block
    By Ranime in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2015, 08:56 am
  4. Dynamic block - Array variable column offset
    By Rosenkrans in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Apr 2014, 05:24 pm
  5. Control distance of array in dynamic block
    By newby in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Oct 2011, 10:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts