+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Export to Adobe Plotting Incorrectly

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Good morning,

    I am having some challenges with plotting from CAD to Adobe then printing. When I export from CAD to 'AutoCAD PDF (General Documentation).pc3' it exports to a PDF in Adobe. When I open the Adobe file, all layers and lineweights are displayed correctly. However, when I plot, certain items appear to go missing. What is weird is that it is not all items within a lineweight - only portions of the line will go missing (see pieces of road and contours will not plot). I cannot find anything corrupt with the AutoCAD file and there isn't anything standing out in Adobe either. I am not sure if this is an Adobe-specific problem or if it is related to AutoCAD. I have attached the CAD file as well as the PDF file. If anyone has any suggestions, that would be appreciated!
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,727

    Default

    Have you tried with the "dwg to pdf" and compared result. Have used it and cutepdf with no problems.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,040

    Default

    The drawing posted had parts of the contour lines missing, so the pdf was entirely correct.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    Have you tried with the "dwg to pdf" and compared result. Have used it and cutepdf with no problems.
    Hi Bigal,

    Thank you for taking a look at my issue. I have used CutePDF before but the quality of the drawing is not as good as when using the General Documentation. I have used the same export process for other drawings and it appears fine I am starting to wonder if it is more of an Adobe problem than an AutoCAD problem since it exports OK and appears on the screen correct.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Everything I saw in the drawing came out on the pdf too. I also used dwg to pdf.pc3, and monochrome.ctb. I went through the drawing and replaced the shx fonts with Arial. I also avoided using any commands with the word export in them. Since the 2016 version, I've found no need for third party pdf programs.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Image Plotting Incorrectly
    By ScribbleJ in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th May 2013, 07:49 pm
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2013, 01:42 am
  3. Large Custom Adobe PDF Size Not Plotting
    By pt_keegan in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Jan 2012, 01:48 pm
  4. Adobe PDFmaker (Batch Plotting) vs Autocad 2011
    By ILoveMadoka in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th Jul 2011, 07:55 pm
  5. Stop opening Adobe Reader after plotting to .pdf
    By LG24 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2010, 10:10 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts