+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default Publish is plotting drawing in lower right side rather than full page

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey guys,

    I am having an issue I've never seen before.

    I am trying to publish a set of drawings into one PDF file with DWG to PDF. However, when I do it looks like this (blackout added):



    When I zoom extents the drawing, it shows there's nothing out there. The page size is 11X17 and it plots to that size.

    When I plot the drawings individually it looks like this:



    I am really stumped on what it could be and welcome any insights.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Atropyne's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7810
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E5-1630 v4 @3.70GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro M4000
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell whatevers
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Atropyne's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Your profile says you're running ACAD 2016. Do you have access to ACAD 2015 or 2017?
    Reason I ask, we have a system here that has the same issue. We created custom page setups for importing with separate plot areas selected and it would still happen.
    Strange thing is, if we run the publish in ACAD 2015, 2017 or 2018 on the system, the PDFs come out normal.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,716

    Default

    I moved away from Publish as we had some screwy problems like what your talking about and went to custom lisps, they work every time. I also acknowledge others have no problems using Publish one of those frustrating problems.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    716

    Default

    Plot is a lot more forgiving by design, to be automated Publish prefers Named Page Setups using layout. From Sheet Set Manager I'm given the choice to Publish the Sheet Set either to the plotter or to PDF. I import layouts and Named Page Setups with custom lisp macros in the Ribbon.
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    716

    Default

    There has always been issues related to plotting in AutoCAD that affect both Plot and Publish link below to the official work-around for one that's never been fixed:
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...ng-limits.html
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Try using another program version.

Similar Threads

  1. Plotting side by side
    By ROBP in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2014, 08:42 pm
  2. PLOT vs PUBLISH: Different results using the same Page Setup
    By freek in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2013, 08:58 pm
  3. Help drawing a curve side to side inside a rectangle
    By berol in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2010, 05:45 pm
  4. Publish - Plotter named in page setup
    By PeaShooter in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Aug 2009, 12:16 pm
  5. Plotting drawing page setups in AutoCAD
    By muck in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th May 2008, 02:27 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts