+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    126

    Default Hatch multiple objects that overlap

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi guys,
    I've to hatch multiple objects that sometimes overlap. I don't want that the hatch get removed if the islands are in common.. currently I'm ending the command and start again to avoid that but maybe there is a better way. Any advice?



    Thanks for your help!

    Dennis

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,736

    Default

    I just use a crossing window and pick everything in one feel swoop and it works for me. The only downside, if you want to call it that, is the square in the corner ends up getting hatched twice. Its as though you hatched each long rectangle separately then overlapped them. See for yourself...

    Hatch_me.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,179

    Default

    See this thread from 2011.

    Autodesk has had seven years to address this issue. Oh wait, they don't do issues.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,736

    Default

    Just to be clear, I did not pick inside each individual area. I used a crossing window that passed through both objects at the same time.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,959

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    See this thread from 2011.

    Autodesk has had seven years to address this issue. Oh wait, they don't do issues.
    Works just like ReMark shows in AutoCAD 2018, not sure what release, but it is fixed now.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,743

    Default

    I've found that Associative hatches react horribly to most situations where two or more objects are to be run through the "hatch association algorithm". (whatever happens in there is dark energy.)

    1 use non associated separate hatches exclusively, with fewer issues.

    It still won't hatch those overlapping corners all the time unless the rectangles are selected separately, and I have found modifying the island detection setting often to be ineffective.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,736

    Default

    I guess I wasn't clear enough. I did not select the rectangles separately.

    Here's another example that I tested a half dozen times and got the same results each time. Everything got hatched even the areas (the squares) that were overlapping using one crossing window for making the selection. The square areas (four) got hatched twice.

    HatchitTime.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Thanks for your help!

    I'll use separate hatches and select all the rectangles and don't care about overlapping hatch.. Was wondering if I could have only 1 hatch for all

    Thank you guys!

    Dennis

  9. #9
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,179

    Default

    As noted in the thread I referenced, the only sure way to get a clean hatch is to draw one border that contains every space. Or you can upgrade.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yes it could be a solution!

    Anyway with upgrade you mean that autocad 2018 allow to have one hatch for all these object picking objects and not points inside?

    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Filtering specific objects from multiple objects
    By Dragoon in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2016, 07:52 am
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2015, 06:23 am
  3. Creating hatch boundries on multiple objects and individual lines.
    By Jonathan1321 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2013, 01:00 pm
  4. Trouble selecting multiple objects, deleting objects, etc.
    By johnnydy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2011, 11:32 pm
  5. Objects over Hatch
    By PJM in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th Nov 2005, 03:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts