+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    72

    Default Joining two parts together in Rhino

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,
    I am primarily a Solidworks user and to join parts together is referred to as Assembly, I noticed that this term doesn't exist in Rhino, would someone here please point out the proper term for it and maybe give me a synopsis of the procedure so that I can begin to learn it in Rhino.
    Thank you,
    Chubarka

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Would it be Boolean Union or perhaps Join? You're working with closed polysurfaces yes?

    Have you visited the Rhino website and looked at any of the tutorials? Also check out the many YouTube videos re: Rhino.

    website...https://www.rhino3d.com/tutorials
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    72

    Default

    ReMark,
    I didn't have any luck with either Boolean Union, or Join in the help files. What I did was to try opening one part, then importing my second part, and I am able to
    get both parts on the screen at the same time, however with regards to lining them up to place one where I want to join the other , I am unable to revolve
    without both pieces revolving at once. It would seem that I am in the wrong mode, is there a solution to this? I can post both files if it would help.
    Chubarka

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    I would think that the answer to revolving one part while not revolving the other and aligning two parts would be found at the Rhino website. Have you looked there yet?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Yes I have, I have found nothing regarding my particular situation. However I will search out the internet, I'm sure I will find something eventually, thanks for your help.
    Chubarka

  6. #6
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    Rhino isnt that type of program but there are addins to help. This will sound silly but search for either bongo, grasshopper or kangaroo with rhino3d in a search
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks17,Mastercam2017, fusion360, Inventor 2017, HSMworksUltimate
    http://www.solidbox.tv Free and Paid Tutorials for Solidworks, Mastercam and Fusion360
    http://www.mysolidbox.com/ CAD and CAM optimized workstations and laptops

  7. #7
    Junior Member TedKyte's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Alberta Canada
    Posts
    20

    Default Join

    Quote Originally Posted by chubarka View Post
    Hello,
    I am primarily a Solidworks user and to join parts together is referred to as Assembly, I noticed that this term doesn't exist in Rhino, would someone here please point out the proper term for it and maybe give me a synopsis of the procedure so that I can begin to learn it in Rhino.
    Thank you,
    Chubarka

    Hi Chubarka...

    If you send me the files I will join them and explain how to do it...
    Send to ted@ted-kyte.com


    Ted
    Ted
    http://www.RhinoCanada.com
    http://www.ted-kyte.com
    -----------------------------

  8. #8
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    Just to clear he wants assembly motion and not boolean "join". At least I am pretty sure.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks17,Mastercam2017, fusion360, Inventor 2017, HSMworksUltimate
    http://www.solidbox.tv Free and Paid Tutorials for Solidworks, Mastercam and Fusion360
    http://www.mysolidbox.com/ CAD and CAM optimized workstations and laptops

  9. #9
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    I was wrong. He sent me pictures snd does want to do a boolean combine of 2 bodies.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks17,Mastercam2017, fusion360, Inventor 2017, HSMworksUltimate
    http://www.solidbox.tv Free and Paid Tutorials for Solidworks, Mastercam and Fusion360
    http://www.mysolidbox.com/ CAD and CAM optimized workstations and laptops

  10. #10
    Junior Member TedKyte's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Alberta Canada
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi Chubarka…


    The Ring is a solid or closed poly surface and the Face is a mesh.
    They won’t join so you have to convert one or the other.
    It looks like you want a solid to 3D print so I converted the face to a solid or closed poly face.
    You do this by first checking that all the holes are closed then make sure all the normal are pointing the same direction.
    Then you can do a mesh to nurbs and it should be a sloid or closed poly surface.
    Then I saved it as a solid face.
    Now open the ring and copy it to the clipboard.
    Now open the solid face again and past in the ring.
    You now have both solids in the same drawing.
    Save that drawing.
    Now rotate the ring to match the face back surface.
    Move the ring to place it where you want it on the face.
    With a slight overlap of the 2 I then did a Boolean union of the 2.
    Hope this helps you out.
    You can download the file here:

    http://www.ted-kyte.com/download/Joined.zip


    The face is a very large fine mesh, that’s what is making the file so large.


    Ted
    Ted
    http://www.RhinoCanada.com
    http://www.ted-kyte.com
    -----------------------------

Similar Threads

  1. Rhino Help
    By paulhea in forum Rhino
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2014, 12:38 pm
  2. Showing CoG of parts in Bill of Material / Parts list
    By petedow in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th Mar 2014, 09:37 am
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th Dec 2011, 05:09 pm
  4. joining parts
    By deRabes in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2011, 06:39 pm
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Oct 2011, 02:26 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts