+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default post processors compatible with autocad?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all. As I learn slowly how to draw in autocad 2017, I find a need for a post processor to generate g code. I also have fusion360, but really dont want to try and learn that at the same time as learning autocad.

    So, any recommendations for a good reliable and preferable free post processor that will accept autocad files?

    I tried opening the autocad file in bobcad to use the built in post processor, but bobcad cant even open an autocad file. Not that i know how to do anyway.

    Needing a post processor. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    See if ACE Converter does what you need.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    Look at SLW210 post and key words here is "DXF file"

    Save as an old version like 2000
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    I meant to add about using a DXF file. Pretty sure BobCAD needs a DXF as well.

    What brand name equipment do you use that needs G-Code?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Im currently running a generic type router table with a gecko controller setup. Have been using bobcad for quite a while, but its an older version and it is unstable on win10. I might be doing something wrong as far as trying to use the autocad file on bobcad. I have tried saving the drawing as an autocad dxf, but bobcad will not open that. Guessing that autocad codes their files so that only autocad will open them? In doing more research, it appears that fusion 360 is an all in 1 alternative. I might spend some more time with it. My goal is to have a stable and current cad cam solution for production purposes,, and hopefully have a marketable skill for work outside work. Knowing bobcad isnt exactly marketable.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    You may need to save as a R12 .dxf from AutoCAD for an older BobCad it's hard to say, could just be trying to use it on Windows 10.

    Did you try the ACE Converter I posted the link for?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Havent had time to try it yet. Hoping to do it this evening.

Similar Threads

  1. How compatible is Draftsight with AutoCad
    By Dana W in forum Catch All
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2017, 12:20 pm
  2. Is AutoCAD Compatible with Apple?
    By BigDog in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2013, 01:23 pm
  3. autocad compatible intellicad .dwg
    By transcad in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd May 2013, 10:47 am
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th Aug 2010, 12:35 am
  5. EDIT: Editing CNC post-processors
    By Caios3DMAX in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19th Dec 2007, 05:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts