Software Keeps Crashing

hlshp

I Hope someone can help. I have been using autocad light 14 for 4 years on the same computer using windows 10. I am self taught and I use autocad to make amendments to drawings I have inherited from the autocad expert who left the company 4 years ago. I have just returned from a 2 week break and there is a problem with the autocad programme. It opens OK and I can open drawings no problem. However, whatever command I select, causes the programme to crash/close. An autodesk error box appears which I have filled in and sent off to Autodesk but have had no reply from them.

I have completed a system restore on the computer, but that has not helped. Not sure what else I can do?

Thanks in advance.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• hlshp

• ReMark

• BIGAL

• SLW210

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Does AutoCAD crash if you start a new drawing as well?

Do you get an error message when AutoCAD crashes? If so what is the exact wording of the message?

Are you on Subscription?

Hi,

I am not on a subscription. Once I close the welcome screen whatever I do next closes the programme. I cannot even click on "sign in" to access updates, the programme closes. There are no error messages, just the error report form appears. I have the CD should I try BIGAL's suggestion? Thanks.

Yes, I would start with the REPAIR option first. It should not require the CD. Access it via the Windows Start button > Control Panel > Programs and Features.

Any error messages?

AutoCAD 2014LT wasn't designed for Windows 10, I would look into Windows 10 as the source. Were there any updates to anything while you were gone? Somebody did something most likely, is there an IT person/department?

If a repair or reinstall of AutoCAD doesn't work, look into Windows and/or other programs that were changed and/or updated.

Hi,