+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    Full Member Sid's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Sid's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 & 8
    Computer:
    Homebrew.
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8 Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel i5
    RAM:
    8 gig
    Graphics:
    GTX 275
    Primary Storage:
    240 gig SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1 terabyte WD HD
    Monitor:
    Acer AL2216W 23" LCD.
    Discipline
    See details...
    Sid's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Retired ---Product Design, Engineering, Fine Art.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Entirely undisciplined!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ten miles outside Comanche, Texas.
    Posts
    42

    Default Will an Intel i5-3570K CPU w/ 8gig of ram and HD 4000 graphics (onboard) run SU Pro?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm interested in solid modelling in SketchUp Pro with the set-up described in the heading. My models will be rather simple---commonly, nothing much more than a cube perforated with the subtraction of several other solids (cylinders, spheres, etc.). As I understand it, the i5 cpu supports OpenGL 3.1.

    Impressive place (CADTutor and this forum). I look forward to sticking around here for quite some time. Thanks for having me!

    Sid

  2. #2
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,531

    Default

    The intel card will be a bottleneck (eventually). Look for a laptop with an nvidia based video card for best perfornance.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  3. #3
    Full Member Sid's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Sid's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 & 8
    Computer:
    Homebrew.
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8 Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel i5
    RAM:
    8 gig
    Graphics:
    GTX 275
    Primary Storage:
    240 gig SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1 terabyte WD HD
    Monitor:
    Acer AL2216W 23" LCD.
    Discipline
    See details...
    Sid's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Retired ---Product Design, Engineering, Fine Art.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Entirely undisciplined!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ten miles outside Comanche, Texas.
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    The intel card will be a bottleneck (eventually). Look for a laptop with an nvidia based video card for best perfornance.
    Hi, f700es. Thanx for posting.

    To clarify, the HD 4000 graphics is in the cpu, not a separate video card, and the computer is a desktop that I recently built---plenty of room for a discrete PCIe video card. Is your "eventual bottleneck" prediction assuming ever-increasing model complexity? Actually, my usage will only scratch the surface of SU's capacity. I'll never be creating really complex models.

    One last question: Of moderately-priced nvidia cards, do you have a suggestion, or, two??? BTW, I do NO gaming, so frame rates are not an issue.

    And, thanx, again, for sharing your thoughts.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,531

    Default

    Yeah I know the card is built into the cpu What is your budget? Here is a GTX 650 for $103 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127703

    Not a bad card. A good card can be had for $50 but this better.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,036

    Default

    Agree with f700es, I've used an on-board HD 4000 graphics and although phenomenal in terms of on-board, it's best to muster up an extra $100-$150 if all possible. Or if this is a laptop then find something with a dedicated video accelerator. 16GB RAM minimum. Core i5 is definitely stout enough for lasting CPU crunching.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,716

    Default

    We have older pc's loaded 2015 and they reported INTEL graphics card not supported so agree look for Nvidia etc. Typing this on a Samsung laptop with Nvidia out of box.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #7
    Full Member Sid's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Sid's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 & 8
    Computer:
    Homebrew.
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8 Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel i5
    RAM:
    8 gig
    Graphics:
    GTX 275
    Primary Storage:
    240 gig SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1 terabyte WD HD
    Monitor:
    Acer AL2216W 23" LCD.
    Discipline
    See details...
    Sid's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Retired ---Product Design, Engineering, Fine Art.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Entirely undisciplined!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ten miles outside Comanche, Texas.
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    Yeah I know the card is built into the cpu What is your budget? Here is a GTX 650 for $103 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127703

    Not a bad card. A good card can be had for $50 but this better.
    Many thanx, f700es. The MSI card looks good, especially after picking the 2gig version for only $6.00 more ($109). No doubt, it'll handle all my rather meager needs. Heck, I may even break out FS and buzz around a little .

    Sid

  8. #8
    Full Member Sid's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Sid's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 & 8
    Computer:
    Homebrew.
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8 Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel i5
    RAM:
    8 gig
    Graphics:
    GTX 275
    Primary Storage:
    240 gig SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1 terabyte WD HD
    Monitor:
    Acer AL2216W 23" LCD.
    Discipline
    See details...
    Sid's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Retired ---Product Design, Engineering, Fine Art.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Entirely undisciplined!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ten miles outside Comanche, Texas.
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post
    Agree with f700es, I've used an on-board HD 4000 graphics and although phenomenal in terms of on-board, it's best to muster up an extra $100-$150 if all possible. Or if this is a laptop then find something with a dedicated video accelerator. 16GB RAM minimum. Core i5 is definitely stout enough for lasting CPU crunching.
    Thanx for the added comments, tz. Much appreciated.

    Sid

  9. #9
    Full Member Sid's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Sid's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 & 8
    Computer:
    Homebrew.
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8 Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel i5
    RAM:
    8 gig
    Graphics:
    GTX 275
    Primary Storage:
    240 gig SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1 terabyte WD HD
    Monitor:
    Acer AL2216W 23" LCD.
    Discipline
    See details...
    Sid's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Retired ---Product Design, Engineering, Fine Art.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Entirely undisciplined!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ten miles outside Comanche, Texas.
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    We have older pc's loaded 2015 and they reported INTEL graphics card not supported so agree look for Nvidia etc. Typing this on a Samsung laptop with Nvidia out of box.
    BigAl, you and the other guys have been very helpful with your comments on this issue. Greatly appreciate your input.

    Sid

  10. #10
    Full Member Sid's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Sid's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 & 8
    Computer:
    Homebrew.
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8 Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel i5
    RAM:
    8 gig
    Graphics:
    GTX 275
    Primary Storage:
    240 gig SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1 terabyte WD HD
    Monitor:
    Acer AL2216W 23" LCD.
    Discipline
    See details...
    Sid's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Retired ---Product Design, Engineering, Fine Art.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Entirely undisciplined!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ten miles outside Comanche, Texas.
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I should have pointed out that I am just learning SU---and---I will be doing rather lightweight solid modeling with it.

    Also, I wanted to say that I'll be posting back with an update later.

    Thanx, again, guys!

    Sid

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2014, 01:53 pm
  2. how do I re-scale a drawn drawing @ 1:1 to 1:4000 within model space
    By Dallas007 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th Jun 2014, 08:12 am
  3. Intel G33 onboard graphics
    By william-swc in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10th Sep 2009, 05:20 pm
  4. HP 4000 Plotter Colors
    By closedflat in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2008, 11:59 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts