+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No, that's not what I mean.

    It just makes things easier than messing around with all of the settings for some people.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  2. #12
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    Yea but you still have to place them in correct spot. Id rather do it once. Wish Sync object scale location would solve this problem. Dont really even know how to use that tool. Nvr does anything for me
    With the modelspace annotative view scale set to the scale where you would like the positions to align to, select the annotative objects you want synced up, then click to sync. All scale positions of the selected items will jump to the position of the current item. Of course you then get multiple ghost images of each scale in one spot whenever you select one of the items. This causes visual nightmares when doing modifications. That is why I NEVER assign more than one scale to dimensions for any one viewport, and apply or edit those dimensions only with the modelspace view scale adjusted to match the scale in the intended viewport.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  3. #13
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    that mean have both annot icons on bottom menu bar on? I almost always use more than 1 scale.
    The only annotative task bar icon I have turned o is the one to always show anno dimensions at any scale. That way, only the objects with NO dimensions look like they have no dimensions. I have even removed the button from my task bar that automatically adds the current anno scale to new anno dims. It also adds them whenever existing dimensions are selected so you just end up with an unreadable mess when going back to make changes, because of the anno ghosts.

    Zoom works miracle cures on difficult to read tiny dimensions.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  4. #14
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default sync

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    With the modelspace annotative view scale set to the scale where you would like the positions to align to, select the annotative objects you want synced up, then click to sync. All scale positions of the selected items will jump to the position of the current item. Of course you then get multiple ghost images of each scale in one spot whenever you select one of the items. This causes visual nightmares when doing modifications. That is why I NEVER assign more than one scale to dimensions for any one viewport, and apply or edit those dimensions only with the modelspace view scale adjusted to match the scale in the intended viewport.
    sync? And yes the ghosts are retarded. I am brainstorming a way to end them. Still thinking

  5. #15
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    Sync (...hronize multiple...) On the right click menu, or on the annotative ribbon tab, right under the Add/delete, or command ANNORESET.

    You can only get rid of the ghosts by actually removing superfluous scales from the annotative objects by making use of Add/Delete scales either same right click menu item, or the annotative tab on the ribbon, or command OBJECTSCALE. Sorry, the ribbon grays out when the dialog box is open. If you delete a scale that is used someplace, it will no longer show up there, of course. If you have to have more than one scale assigned to an item, the ghost must remain.

    I am willing to bet that most of the ghosting comes from users leaving the Automatically Add Current Scale option turned on when it is not needed.

    I have discovered that the right click add/delete will sometimes crash with a continue option when doing the operation on multiple items, especially when selecting multiple types, like mleaders, dimensions and mtext all at the same time. For some reason the ribbon Add/Delete lets you get away with far more shenanigans of that sort without crashing. I believe it is the difference between the commands OBJECTSCALE and _OBJECTSCALE
    Attached Images
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #16
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    I still do not know what the sync even does. As far as add/delete scale, I use properties pallete and never have a problem. As far as ribbon, u mean right click on anno scale to get to add/delete screen, right? I do not have any thing to take me dirrectly tthere.

  7. #17
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    oh the ribbon, sry. you can right click btm anno area too. i nvr use ribbon anymore

  8. #18
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    ...As far as add/delete scale, I use properties pallete and never have a problem. As far as ribbon, u mean right click on anno scale to get to add/delete screen, right? I do not have any thing to take me dirrectly tthere.
    No, I mean the right click cursor menu OR the annotative tab on the ribbon... No Ribbon, ok then.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #19
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    I still do not know what the sync even does.
    Apparently it is doing exactly the opposite that you want it to do.

    It synchronizes all the annotation objects (selected) to be the same proportional shape and position as the one(s) selected for the command. The only difference is the size determined by the view scale. Say you have a dimension with 1/2" = 1'-0" and 1/4"= 1'-0" scales assigned to it. In the 1/2" viewport you have the dimension on the right side of an object, and in the 1/4" viewport you have moved the same dimension (after changing the MS view scale) to the left side of the same object. If you select the 1/2" scale dimension in modelspace and sync it (ANNORESET), then the 1/4" scale version of the dimension will move to be exactly on top of the 1/2" scale dimension but retaining it's view scale of 1/4". If you select the 1/4" version first, then the 1/2" scale dim will move.

    I am not sure why ANNORESET is useful. I have usually gone out of my way to move dimensions or leaders in smaller scale views due to fitment issues. The last thing I need is for them to move back.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  10. #20
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Bit confusing. Prob just to stick to what I have been doing for awhile. I draw my model first 1:1. Then I begin to think about how I am giong to present this on paper. If I need a large amt of model shown (plan) I will then change model scale to 1/16 or 1/8 and begin to annotate and then make corresponding viewports Then if I I want ot show a piece of model at larger scale I will make a viewport and zoom to achieve what I want and make that viewport scale. Afterwards, go back to model space and change scale to that viewport and annotate with new scale. Works for me.

Similar Threads

  1. Annotative Text always bolder then paper space text
    By neondeon298 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th Dec 2016, 12:43 am
  2. Lisp to convert Annotative TEXT to Annotative MTEXT
    By Tripledot in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th Feb 2016, 06:28 am
  3. i want to make my text annotative text
    By afrazawan in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th Dec 2013, 12:03 pm
  4. annotative text issue
    By col1n in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Jul 2012, 11:19 am
  5. Annotative block issue
    By markv in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2011, 02:45 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts