+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default annotative text issue

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I have been off autocad for a little bit and been on revit so i am trying to get back in psync. Just got acad 2018 and am running into some annotative issues. For a test I made two objects (square and circle) next to each other. I made an annotative text that i want in PS as 1/16 which is set current. In MS I change annot scale to 1/16-1' and put it over square. For circle, i switch to annot text 3"-1'. When I do the later the text on square moves up and to the left. In ps, i have two vp's one at 1/16 and the other 3". The text is in correct place there. I cannot have text flying around in MS but be ok in PS. Anyone ever deal with this?

    Tnx,

    Brian

  2. #2
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    I turned off add current annot scales and things dont fly around. Next question, dont understand how you can work in MS when u want a viewport at 1/16"-1'. Text ends up being fine in ps but huge in ms. cannot work that way. Only thing i could think of is do annotative scaling at the end. Just seems too unfriendly.

  3. #3
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    figured it out! Been awhile!

  4. #4
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    Please share your solution so that future visitors can benefit.

    It's worth noting that annotation and scales interact in several places. The overall scale affects what you see in model space. The viewport annotation scale affects what you see in a viewport, and it's separate from the scale of the viewport itself. Of course, the text itself can have multiple scales and multiple positions.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  5. #5
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Took a little while to get back into things. My problem was text was moving around in viewports. The trick is to draw 1-1. Then you have to figure out what part of your drawings are going to be in each VP. Then annotate that area switching the anno scale in MS so you can see the spot it would be at that scale in your viewport. It just can get a bit annoying if your not positive what part of your drawing is going to be in what viewport scale at the time.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    616

    Default

    You can apply multiple annotative scales to one object and define which scale you want in each VP. Seems to me that would be the way to go.

  7. #7
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Yea but you still have to place them in correct spot. Id rather do it once. Wish Sync object scale location would solve this problem. Dont really even know how to use that tool. Nvr does anything for me

  8. #8
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Ski I think you are right. If you just leave the add scales to anno objects icon it just does it. Besides that only way i know how to add a scale to an object is highlight it and change it in anno scale in properties. Just one more step. That icon takes a full spot just so you dont have to add and just pick from list in properties?

  9. #9
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    When working with multiple scales, it's a good idea to work in an activated viewport.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  10. #10
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    that mean have both annot icons on bottom menu bar on? I almost always use more than 1 scale.

Similar Threads

  1. Annotative Text always bolder then paper space text
    By neondeon298 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th Dec 2016, 12:43 am
  2. Lisp to convert Annotative TEXT to Annotative MTEXT
    By Tripledot in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th Feb 2016, 06:28 am
  3. i want to make my text annotative text
    By afrazawan in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th Dec 2013, 12:03 pm
  4. annotative text issue
    By col1n in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Jul 2012, 11:19 am
  5. Annotative block issue
    By markv in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2011, 02:45 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts