+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    stopandgo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Monitor:
    22" AOC
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    30

    Angry Middle Button on Mouse Won't Pan

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So, I've never had a problem with this before...but seemingly out of nowhere the middle wheel-button on my mouse stopped working when I try to pan real-time. In addition, double-clicking it will no longer zoom out to the extents of my drawing.

    The wheel's rolling function works fine for zooming in & out, but when I press it down to pan, nothing happens.

    I know the button still works when pressed because when I change the button's Mouse Settings to--for example--switch between active/inactive windows outside of ACAD, it does that just fine. No, it seems that the middle button's functionality stops working only once I'm in AutoCAD (currently using ver2007).


    What I've Tried (and doesn't work)
    1.) Setting MBUTTONPAN=1
    2.) Changing local mouse settings for the wheel (as well as other buttons) to "AutoScroll," "Universal Scroll" and "Middle Button"
    3.) Unplugging/re-plugging in the mouse from the USB port


    Mouse Info
    Mouse: LogiTech MX310 Optical
    Driver: 9.79
    OS: Windows XP

    I've scanned related threads with no luck. Any bright ideas out there???

  2. #2
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    1,071

    Default

    Have you tried un-installing and re-installing the device driver.
    "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time"

    SolidWorks | AutoCAD | Creo

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    stopandgo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Monitor:
    22" AOC
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    30

    Smile Problem Solved.

    Hm...but before I could even try reloading the driver/CD, it seems the problem has now magically fixed itself.

    All I did was Shut Down (including 1 other User, which was simultaneously logged on), reboot the computer, open up ACAD with my drawing, and voila the middle-button panning worked again.

    Maybe it had something to do with the other User that was logged on--which happened to be Admin--which has a different Mouse button configuration? That particular setup used "Universal Scroll" as the middle button function....although I don't see how this would affect ACAD operations on my User Account. But it's the only thing I can think of that changed between it not working an hour ago and it working perfectly fine now.

    In any case, thanks for the suggestion StevSmith. I hope this issue doesn't pop up again

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stopandgo View Post
    Maybe it had something to do with the other User that was logged on--which happened to be Admin--which has a different Mouse button configuration? That particular setup used "Universal Scroll" as the middle button function....although I don't see how this would affect ACAD operations on my User Account. But it's the only thing I can think of that changed between it not working an hour ago and it working perfectly fine now.
    That is probably the issue. The mouse behavior is a Windows controlled function, then AutoCAD builds on top of what is already there. Maybe Admin (Who is that? They work at my place too.)somehow set the mouse back to default.

    I am not sure if you can make the mouse functions part of YOUR Windows user profile, but I would try. When you have multiple user accounts in Windows, it is better that you create and save a custom profile.

    I have a Logitech (Dell) XPS M2010 optical mouse similar to yours and it took a while for me to figure out how to get the wheel to "clickpan" when I first installed ACAD 2009 LT. After a bunch of trial and error, I saw a post on this forum that said the wheel has to be set to middle button. For my mouse, there is a tab on the mouse set up dialog called SetPoint. On that tab, when you click button 3, the wheel hilites, and then I had to select Other from a list of functions. It was defaulted to universal scroll. Then from the Other list I had to select Middle Button.

    Luckily I do not have to use multiple accounts on my computer, so I know when something gets monkeed out of whack, it was either me or my wife.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    stopandgo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Monitor:
    22" AOC
    Discipline
    Transport
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Great insight, DanaW.

    I'd say now I am convinced that this is a Windows issue more than it is an AutoCAD one. My mouse settings do not provide me with the aforementioned "SetPoint" dialog, but I am still able to assign a function to the middle button just the same.

    What I'll probably end up doing is either 1) consolidating all the user accounts to have the same button configuration/assignments, or 2) try and isolate a custom profile (as you mentioned) just for my user account.

    Thanks again for the tips.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Sbeth85's Avatar
    Using
    Architecture 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Dana-
    Thank you, perfect answer.
    I went into Setpoint (the Logitech software for my mouse), clicked on the "Zoom" button--> set it to the "Middle Button" function.

    Now it both pans and zooms like a charm.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default Mouse wont Pan- Logitech M185

    Sorry to re-post this, but I've tried all the options mentioned on both these
    threads :
    1) http://forums.augi.com/showthread.ph...tton-won-t-Pan.

    2) and this particular thread>

    Im using Autocad 2010

    What I've Tried (and doesn't work)

    Installed Set point.
    Enclosed is a jpeg.

    1.) Set MBUTTONPAN=1
    2.) Changing mouse settings on SET POINT for the wheel (as well as other buttons) to "AutoScroll," "Universal Scroll", "OTHER" and then back to "Middle Button".
    NOTE: when you select "other" & get a drop down menu to choose from,
    there is NO "Middle Button" to choose from on that list.
    3.) Unplugging/re-plugging in the mouse from the USB port

    Whats interesting is in the Windows Mouse properties tab, the "connected devices" shows "Microsoft Mouse 1000" when actually Im using a "Logitech M185." When I go to the "Hardware Tab" and select Logitech it highlights it but does not give you to option to click on "Apply". which prob means its not saving the selection.

    Using Wifi at home, but no one else logged on.
    Mouse Info
    Mouse: LogiTech M185 Wireless
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

    Thanks,
    Kirk
    Attached Images

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    It's been a while but I solved this issue in the past by removing the SetPoint software entirely.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    It was not working prior to installing the Setpoint software.
    So when I did a search for updating drivers, came across it & tried it.
    Still no difference.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Have you tried uninstalling the other mouse? If that is indeed the current mouse, that would explain why Your SetPoint settings have no affect.
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. Middle Mouse button
    By StevenMc in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Nov 2009, 08:01 pm
  2. Middle Mouse Button Pan
    By JaketheMan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th Oct 2007, 07:46 pm
  3. Setting middle mouse button as F3 button
    By alerch in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st Aug 2006, 10:04 pm
  4. Middle mouse button.
    By ceno in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th Mar 2006, 10:46 pm
  5. middle button on mouse?
    By hughesey in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2005, 03:28 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts