+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default Annotative Dimension Issue with Fractions

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am having a problem with Annotative Dimensions and fractional inches.

    What appears to be happening is this: when a "space" appears between numbers, letters or symbols in a dimension, the annotative dimension views this as a "new line of text", and places the following numbers, letters or symbols on the next line. I attempted to change the width of the text box, but this does not help, as it is already wide enough. I noticed that when I remove the space between the number 7 and the fraction 1/2 (see images below), the problem goes away; this is what lead me to believe the annotative dimension is treating the space as a new line of text.

    How do I stop annotative text from doing this without having to remove the space? Please help, and thank you.

    Problem image 01 (fraction pushed to second line of text):

    Problem image 02 (text box width does not appear to be the problem):

    Problem image 03 (removed space between the number 7 and the fraction 1/2):

  2. #2
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    617

    Default

    this format 1'-1 1/8 is what you want. crucial. Looks fine. If i am misunderstand sry. BTW dont ever override or put text over a dimension. If this is not what your talking about I apologize.

  3. #3
    Senior Member dtkell's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dtkell's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    CPU:
    Intel I5 4670
    RAM:
    16mb
    Discipline
    Civil
    dtkell's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafter/Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Maybe if you modify your dimension style to include a stacked option for fraction format under the "primary units" tab it will give you a look that works.

Similar Threads

  1. annotative text issue
    By bjenk8100 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2017, 08:10 pm
  2. annotative text issue
    By col1n in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Jul 2012, 11:19 am
  3. Annotative block issue
    By markv in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2011, 02:45 am
  4. Alternate Dimension Fractions instead of Parenthesis
    By Abates7 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th May 2010, 03:55 pm
  5. Annotative Dimension
    By vinod in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2009, 01:22 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts