+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default picture to 2d dwg

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I thought of something that would be great but not sure if its possible. I would like to take a picture of something (front of house for example) and xref it into autocad. Is there a way to like "flat shot" it, then find a dimension i know (door) and scale it. I do this all the time with pdf's that are already in 2d i would think a picture would get a bit inaccurate because its not taken perfectly normal to the surface of the object. If I could figure something like this out I would steam roll through projects in minutes. Save tons of surveying time and all that expensive stuff. I would be interested in buying something that has this type technology.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,062

    Default

    Take a look at ReMake and ReCap both from Autocad or do a google search on photogrammetry there are many more programmes that have this capability.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  3. #3
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    have nvr used recap or 360. I will check out photogrammetry. I know surveyors use GPS and other tool apparatus as well. Asked a guy about it and he said we use this 40K program linked with Aecom (Navy project). Its all patented. Just trying to find something very simple. Most of all that is 3D. I want it 2D. Thanks for suggestion I will let you know results.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,889

    Default

    There is 3d laser scanning, expensive but very interesting. Drone technology is getting better all the time.

    Bottom line is nothing to make 3d models like what you want is cheap.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

  6. #6
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,062

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    There is 3d laser scanning, expensive but very interesting. Drone technology is getting better all the time.

    Bottom line is nothing to make 3d models like what you want is cheap.
    I can do 3D scanning with my phone. Lenovo phab 2 pro. I haven't gotten as far as transfering it to CAD yet but just playing with it is impressive. so is the AR.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  7. #7
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    i would think a picture would get a bit inaccurate because its not taken perfectly normal to the surface of the object.
    You can actually adjust that with Photoshop, should be some tutorials online.

    Example 1: https://www.all-things-photography.c...op//index.html

    Example 2: https://creativepro.com/how-to-strai...s-taken-angle/
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #8
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I quit photoshop. I will have a young arch look into it. It should be simple by now with all the crap i have seen. Maybe Revit has something. I prob know 5% of that beast.

Similar Threads

  1. Picture to DWG
    By 8bit in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2015, 06:01 pm
  2. Picture
    By JKNIGHT_02 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Mar 2008, 05:41 pm
  3. picture
    By Niz in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Jun 2006, 08:04 pm
  4. Picture into CAD?
    By I Need Help With CAD in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Dec 2005, 09:38 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts