+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,173

    Default Monster DWG challange

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hi

    this drawing really bits me,
    its huge in wight and therefor freezez autocad when trying to save



    i tried :


    copy geometry into a new drawing
    bind it
    wblock it
    regg app id cleaning
    purging
    DGN cleaning

    none of the above didnt work

    what else to try?

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/i8x49yfq7u...09-08.dwg?dl=0

    Tx

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    On my first try I got the file down from 31MB to 29MB.

    On my second try I have now gotten the file down to 19.7MB.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    I dealt with a huge file once. They drafting entire jacob javitz center (NYC's convention center) on one file. It crashed and froze all the time. I found turning all snaps off helped tremendously, then obviously freeze unnecessary stuff.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,173

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    On my first try I got the file down from 31MB to 29MB.

    On my second try I have now gotten the file down to 19.7MB.
    would you tell us your secret?

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Last attempt and I got it down to 17.5MB.

    My secret is no secret at all. Multiple uses of Overkill, -Purge (Regapps then All), Audit and WBlock. I ended up creating five different iterations of the drawing in the process. I think I would still have trouble working with the drawing as my system is going on seven years old and I am limited to 12GB of RAM.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,173

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Last attempt and I got it down to 17.5MB.

    My secret is no secret at all. Multiple uses of Overkill, -Purge (Regapps then All), Audit and WBlock. I ended up creating five different iterations of the drawing in the process. I think I would still have trouble working with the drawing as my system is going on seven years old and I am limited to 12GB of RAM.
    TX ill give it a try when im home on my Z

  7. #7
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,059

    Default

    Do you realise there are 397 text styles, 29 dimension styles, and Annotative objects are set with 10+ annotative scales, I copied all the dims into a new drawing it was 12.5 MB just in dims another 7.5 MB for Mtext
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    I got rid of over 673 blocks and 136 layers in one of my -purge passes. The first audit found 220 database errors too which doesn't help.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    lol, sounds like change order time

  10. #10
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,059

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I think someone should talk to ReMark about CAD standards, and take his words seriously.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

Similar Threads

  1. Super Large .dwg Challange
    By SunnyTurtle in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Aug 2014, 04:20 am
  2. help me improve the environment (create autolisp it's challange)
    By sachindkini in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th Jan 2010, 07:40 am
  3. inventor leader challange.
    By Hickoz_bro in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2008, 10:27 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts