+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Some people/companies go overboard with standards. I think following government department (i.e. - dep of transportation) standards is not a bad idea. They are pretty strict but do not get all cheesy.

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,357

    Default

    Don't ask me...I'm only a draftsman. LOL
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steven-g View Post
    I think someone should talk to ReMark about CAD standards, and take his words seriously.
    Unfortunately, most outfits don't see the need for standards until something like this happens. Then it's too late.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  4. #14
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,716

    Default

    Its off and running bit like the last horse I backed.

    Anyway blocks with a name like A$eg34juk are blocks that have been created by cut and pasting these could be a complete dwg MB in size or they are the same thing multiple times but pasted each time rather than using Insert, anyway once the audit finishes then I will try purge.

    Wow & Wow what a dwg I know we dont use xref's much but this is a dwg that should use them, even split the dwg into common sheets do the details have to live in this dwg ? The structural dwgs are buried in there as well as elevations etc.

    Our biggest dwg 30Mb its all one, 88 layouts. Very structured.

    Remark how you ever got it smaller is a mystery.

    Did find though what looks like title blocks is not! Some of the title are lines and text like 10 times this would be 1 block this is repeated. Take it back looking in the layouts all the title blocks are exploded no wonder 1,000,000 entities.
    Last edited by BIGAL; 26th Sep 2017 at 11:01 am.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #15
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,163

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steven-g View Post
    Do you realise there are 397 text styles, 29 dimension styles, and Annotative objects are set with 10+ annotative scales, I copied all the dims into a new drawing it was 12.5 MB just in dims another 7.5 MB for Mtext
    can be killed by purge?

  6. #16
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,038

    Default

    Nope, not if it has been used in the drawing. I couldn't see which were actually used. To be honest I did try purge but then saving the drawing just resulted in the computer hanging for a long time, after 15 minutes I just had to use the task manager to kill Autocad. I would imagine that all these styles have built up from reusing content from other drawings, but it is certainly something you need to look at very carefully because it is obviously slowing down your drawing process enormously. But only you know how all this has built up, but I would guess you have a library of drawings that all need looking at.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  7. #17
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,357

    Default

    Only entities that are no longer referenced in a drawing can be purged.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Atropyne's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7810
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E5-1630 v4 @3.70GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro M4000
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell whatevers
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Atropyne's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I ran Drawing Purge on the file and it dropped down to 20MB and became a little easier to save.

    https://apps.autodesk.com/ACD/en/Det...38176974634673
    *edit-link got messed up

  9. #19
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,357

    Default

    That's a start. When you get it down to 12MB give us a shout. LOL

    One of the many problems with this drawing: ten different layers just for dimensions and twenty layers for text with an additional three layers for text related to dimensions. To me that just says poor CAD drafting practices.
    Last edited by ReMark; 27th Sep 2017 at 11:23 am.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #20
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,038

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Down to 10.4 MB I killed everything Annotative, and copied only visible objects into a new drawing close to 0,0 purged and overkilled etc. the drawing is probably useless now, but at least it's a bit smaller.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

Similar Threads

  1. Super Large .dwg Challange
    By SunnyTurtle in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Aug 2014, 04:20 am
  2. help me improve the environment (create autolisp it's challange)
    By sachindkini in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th Jan 2010, 07:40 am
  3. inventor leader challange.
    By Hickoz_bro in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2008, 10:27 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts