+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    Revit 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default 3D Faces ri a single enclosing 3D Polyline

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,
    I have a series of 3DFaces provided by the project civil engineer - these elements represent footpaths, roads, cycleways etc. These elements are sloping on various grades as one would expect. I'd like to generate a 3D Polyline that forms a boundary around all the elements that form a section of road or footpath. I can use the 3DPoly tool to visit each external vertex and snap to the vertex but is there a tool or Lisp program that can do this automatically? I've tried the LineworkShrinkWrap command but that doesn't retain all the correct Z values for the external vertices.
    In the attachment, the layer DESIRED RESULT (magenta) is what I am trying to achieve.

    Many thanks in advance!

    3DPolyTraceQuery.dwg

  2. #2
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    Revit 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default Updated CAD example

    I've updated the CAD example to fully illustrate the problem

    original 3d faces (CYCLEWAY layer - brown)
    lineworkshrinkwrap (LINEWORKSHRINKWRAP layer - yellow)
    desired result (DESIRED RESULT layer - magenta)


    The desired result was manually created by tracing the extent of the 3DFaces using 3DPOLY command.

    Hopefully this makes more sense?
    Attachment 62305
    Attached Files

  3. #3
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    I am confused the magenta and yellow are the same.

    Using shrinkwrap in CIV3D outputs a 3dpoly what you want.

    Your profile says Revit is this correct ?
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    Revit 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Bigal, thanks for your reply. I have to disagree. LINEWORKSHRINKWRAP in Civil3D doesn't do what I want. The magenta and yellow lines are different. The magenta line is what I want. I've attached some screenshots - you can see the difference between the original 3D faces, the 3D polyline (magenta) manually traced using 3DPoly and the result from running LINEWORKSHRINKWRAP in yellow.

    BTW - my profile is correct - I am using Revit mostly, and this particular workflow is to allow me to create Revit Floors automatically from Civil3D elements using Dynamo.

    Original 3Dfaces = brown
    Manual trace with 3DPOlY = magenta
    Shrinkwrap = yellow
    Difference shown in the last image

    Original 3D Faces.JPGManual trace using 3DPOLY.jpgLINEWORKSHRINKWRAP result.jpgDifference between manual trace and shrinkwrap.jpg

  5. #5
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    644

    Default

    Revit has nothing to offer? So you're looking for a workaround for a workaround based on conversion using (the famous) Dynamo..?

    I think you just should not use Revit and DWG for Civil use in the first place. You're asking for trouble, world of pain, still leads to DWG in the end.

    My cent!
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    Revit 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks for your reply Halam. I'll take it on board.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,795

    Default

    You might check and see if there is something in CADTools that can do what you want.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    Revit 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks SLW210. I've got CadTools and I can't see anything that would achieve what I'm after.

  9. #9
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    644

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Wheatley View Post
    Thanks for your reply Halam. I'll take it on board.
    Thanks for taking that as my bold reply ;-)

    I'm not sure you want to stick to Autodesk 'infra sollutions potfolio' either as a matter of fact
    Why not try to find a more exotic and suitable elsewhere, i noticed some great things hapenning at Sketchup. Which most of the times is fairly good dwg compatible. Way better than the Revit beast. I'm not familiar with .skp abilities within the Dynamo playfield. Centainly there can be found some workflow skp into Revit.

    Check this
    https://youtu.be/-WzsUQTonmk
    https://extensions.sketchup.com/en/content/edge-tools²
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    Revit 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    SLW210 - I stand corrected. CadTools DOES have what I needed! Convert 3DFaces to 3DPolylines. It seems to do exactlty what I want. Glad I went back and had a closer look. Many thanks for your time and suggestion.

    In case any other newbie needs to know CadTools can be downloaded from here: http://www.glamsen.se/CadTools.htm

Similar Threads

  1. How to get data to an attribute from enclosing polyline's property
    By mhmtlgrr in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Sep 2017, 04:31 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2016, 02:27 pm
  3. Converting 3D Faces to a single Surface (or Polyface Mesh)
    By Ron-O in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Aug 2012, 12:39 pm
  4. Single polyline on more than one layer
    By eldon in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th Jan 2011, 09:43 am
  5. Single lines into polyline?
    By Christian Syversen in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2003, 09:40 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts