+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,260

    Default Setting Fraction Format in Alternate Units

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Using AC 2018 again today and ran into this issue. I'm drawing in model space one-to-one and using inches for units. But I have to submit to a client who uses cm for units so I'm turning on alternate units for the dim style. I would like the alternate units to be fractions with diagonally stacked format. But I can't seem to find where to set this in the dim style settings.

    I did try setting them to Fractions/Stacked but that ended up [2,85x;15/16] and no matter which dimension I examine they all have ",85x" in them which I have no idea what that means???
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    I always thought fractions were more or less discouraged in the metric system. One is encouraged to use a decimal fraction (ex. - 2.5m) versus a common fraction (ex. - 2 1/2m).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    Sorry if my post was not clear. The primary units in this dimstyle are set to show cm. That works fine. The alternate units are set to show fractional inches. I want the client to see their preferred system of measure on top of the dimension lines. I was previously drawing using metric imunits but too many of my American friends were complaining about the format. So now I draw in inches and show dimensions with metric om top for the client. It's the alternate unit format that doesn't seem to let me set the fractions as stacked diagonally.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,795

    Default

    Sounds like a bug or something else you have selected in the Dimstyle.

    Can you post a drawing that does this?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    You seem to have two issues, the diagonal stack for dims and the .85x showing on the Primary units. Is that correct?

    For the stacked diagonal dims, first go to Primary Units, set Unit format to Architectural, not below set Fraction format to Diagonal, now change Unit format back to Decimal.

    Other than you having a suffix of .85x I have no idea on that one.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  6. #6
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    The x;15/16" stuff has me confused too. So here are a couple of screen shots to show what my environment is. BTW I'm running 2018, just installed a few days ago.
    Attached Images
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    What font are you using? Maybe the code for placing the alternate units below is not being interpreted and is showing as the x;
    Change to another font as a test.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

Similar Threads

  1. Subscript & Superscript in a Fraction Format
    By HC2020 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 1st Aug 2017, 07:35 am
  2. Fraction Format With Dimension Text Override
    By Bill Tillman in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2012, 05:47 pm
  3. Alternate Units
    By SASmith1967 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Mar 2010, 10:28 pm
  4. Alternate units
    By Enigma in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2009, 05:51 pm
  5. dim alternate units under dim line
    By enemigoman in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2nd May 2008, 03:44 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts