+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default back to picture to cad

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    This might work. Get two string lines from porch or whatever part of house/structure and plum line it out level to area straight away from structure. We have string lines with levels. Then level a stand perpendicular to string lines with camera. That way it is straight shot unless I am missing something. Then picture should be traceable. Then measure 1 object physically and scale it in cad. If I am missing something please feed.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,055

    Default

    Why? there are programs that do this. If you are going to go to all the trouble of usings strings and levels. for every picture you may just as well measure the stuff.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  3. #3
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    we run outta manpower. surveyors r doing government jobs. if this works i will be fond. I cant take the heat to bring union onto residential with all that crap. I want to do it myself.
    I love the unions they do good for me but they are not good at particular crafts. I teach them carpentry and they laugh. "Thats too artsy"
    Last edited by bjenk8100; 29th Sep 2017 at 06:55 am. Reason: forgot something

  4. #4
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    This might work. Get two string lines from porch or whatever part of house/structure and plum line it out level to area straight away from structure. We have string lines with levels. Then level a stand perpendicular to string lines with camera. That way it is straight shot unless I am missing something. Then picture should be traceable. Then measure 1 object physically and scale it in cad. If I am missing something please feed.
    That will work. If you get a camera perfectly perpendicular to the plane of the measurable object, other objects on that plane can be measured. Those other objects, though, have to be coplanar. Not just parallel, but perfectly coplanar.

    Experiment with AutoCAD, a camera, 3d Solids, and the Flatshot command to confirm or refute any of these notions.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,055

    Default

    Perfectly coplanar! Imagine a window opening 1 meter wide, with a window frame set back in the opening by just 10cm it is still in reality 1 meter wide. Now take a photo with the camera at a distance of 2 meters perfectly in front of the brickwork. And scale your photo so that it shows the brickwork opening at 1 meter then your window frame will measure just 952.381 mm. If your happy with that level of inaccuracy then OK but be aware measuring from a flat photo will only work if you are taking photo's of perfectly flat objects, and then you need to take into account photographic perspective.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  6. #6
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steven-g View Post
    Perfectly coplanar! Imagine a window opening 1 meter wide, with a window frame set back in the opening by just 10cm it is still in reality 1 meter wide. Now take a photo with the camera at a distance of 2 meters perfectly in front of the brickwork. And scale your photo so that it shows the brickwork opening at 1 meter then your window frame will measure just 952.381 mm. If your happy with that level of inaccuracy then OK but be aware measuring from a flat photo will only work if you are taking photo's of perfectly flat objects, and then you need to take into account photographic perspective.
    That all sound about right.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,456

    Default

    Level a stand? How about starting with a good tripod?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,166

    Default

    All pictures are a perspective view. Although you can get a good approximation if you are far enough away, you cannot get truly accurate dimensions.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,456

    Default

    A guide to architectural photography states, "By photographing your architecture from a long way away and using a long focal length lens (telephoto), you will flatten the perspective, making the lines of the building appear parallel..."

    You might also want to read up on tilt shift lens useful in "eliminating the convergence of parallel lines". This is especially true when photographing tall buildings.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,550

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You are talking about Photogrammetry, making measurements from photographs. You could always take lots of pictures and as many measurements as possible and then use SketchUp's Match Photo tool to create a 3D model of the structure/facade and then bring that back into AutoCAD. Your profile says you are using AutoCAD 2018 and AutoDesk has a free import SU file add-on.
    https://help.sketchup.com/en/article/3000115
    Scroll down to 'Creating a 3D model from a photo'
    Other examples on YouTube

    As Rob says you will not get accurate dimensions but you can get a good start.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. Back from Sabbatical (and back in the AutoCAD Saddle!)
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Aug 2012, 04:23 am
  2. I'm back... Really never left, but I'm back to posting
    By HyperPics in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2008, 05:20 pm
  3. picture
    By Niz in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Jun 2006, 08:04 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts