+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    ballsdeep89's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer / Product Development
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    AutoCAD MEP Autodesk Inventor
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    14

    Default Assigning Part Priority

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Folks,

    Just like most places, a large sheet of raw material is used to make multiple piece parts for an assembly.

    I'm trying to assign part priority to my piece parts to ensure select parts are produced first (since they have second and third operations required - which means they take longer to produce than other parts).

    Any advice?

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Using
    Inventor 2016
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    518

    Default

    Sounds to me like a Nested set of parts on a sheet. Inventor has this with the HSM plugin for Inventor that will actually nest and provide output for machines to product parts.

    The 2.5 axis version of it is free and the full version is included with the Manufacturing Product Collection.

    Other than using something like this you best bet would be to use a Sketched Symbol on the drawing to identify to the programmer or machinist that some parts are a higher level priority on fabrication.
    Mark Flayler
    Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
    Blog: http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
    Partner Certified, Inventor Certified Expert

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    ballsdeep89's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer / Product Development
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    AutoCAD MEP Autodesk Inventor
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    14

    Default

    We actually use SigmaNEST, though Im wondering if I can assign part priority on each piece part before we load the entire assmebly into Sigmanest. Perhaps in the iproperties?

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Using
    Inventor 2016
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    518

    Default

    Maybe, but two things to consider...

    1. Does Sigmanest expose the Inventor iProperties for reading?
    2. The value you assign the iProperty will be consistent for every project?

    Maybe consider looking into Inventor HSM, its free (depending on your licensing) and won't cost you anything extra where Sigmanest will as you upgrade. Unless of course Sigmanest gives you features HSM won't.
    Mark Flayler
    Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
    Blog: http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
    Partner Certified, Inventor Certified Expert

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    ballsdeep89's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer / Product Development
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    AutoCAD MEP Autodesk Inventor
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Got it squared away. Sigmanest does identify "default" iproperties.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Dec 2015, 04:02 am
  2. Assigning part references to a block
    By MisterJingles in forum Mechanical & MDT
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2014, 10:59 am
  3. Change layer priority?
    By Pzi in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2012, 08:22 pm
  4. Priority to certain layers
    By srichang in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2011, 07:06 am
  5. Selection Priority
    By tplarkin7 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2005, 08:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts