+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    703

    Default Down load Visual Studio editions for AutoCAD

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is there a website I can download VS expression additions for AutoCAD.
    All I can find on MS website is VS 2017.
    I need VS 2015 for Autocad.
    Thank you,

  2. #2
    Super Member Tyke's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tyke's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 bit, W8 + W8.1 Vista
    Computer:
    HP Z400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB DDR3
    Primary Storage:
    2x 500GB HDD RAID 1 and Western Digital 2TB NAS RAID 1
    Secondary Storage:
    Lacie external HDD 2TB Raid Level 1
    Monitor:
    Samsung SyncMaster P2770HD, 2443 and 193T
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tyke's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor, programmer, civil engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Surveying and civil engineering. As built utilities surveys and data maintenance in GIS systems. Building surveys, measured and laser scanning. Setting out of all civil works. Control and settlement surveys. Programming in AutoCAD, MicroStation, Geograf and stand alone applications for all uses.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Saxony, Germany
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    Try this link, it just worked for me.

    https://www.visualstudio.com/vs/visual-studio-express/

    Go down to the bottom of the page and select the version you want.

    Microsoft does not do an Express version for 2017, although they still have the Preview edition on this page. The free version is now called Visual Studio Community 2017. This will also work with the AutoCAD API.

    Ben
    Engage brain before mouth

    "The German who types with a Yorkshire accent" - Dave Broada 2o1o

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    703

    Default

    Were would I go to download or install VS 2012 to use for AutoCAD 2015?

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    703

    Default

    So will VS 2017 community work for both AutoCAD 2015 or 2017

  5. #5
    Super Member Tyke's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tyke's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 bit, W8 + W8.1 Vista
    Computer:
    HP Z400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB DDR3
    Primary Storage:
    2x 500GB HDD RAID 1 and Western Digital 2TB NAS RAID 1
    Secondary Storage:
    Lacie external HDD 2TB Raid Level 1
    Monitor:
    Samsung SyncMaster P2770HD, 2443 and 193T
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tyke's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor, programmer, civil engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Surveying and civil engineering. As built utilities surveys and data maintenance in GIS systems. Building surveys, measured and laser scanning. Setting out of all civil works. Control and settlement surveys. Programming in AutoCAD, MicroStation, Geograf and stand alone applications for all uses.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Saxony, Germany
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    Yes it will work with AutoCAD 2015, you just need to be aware of which .NET Framework AutoCAD 2015 requires, I would think 4.0 would be OK.
    Engage brain before mouth

    "The German who types with a Yorkshire accent" - Dave Broada 2o1o

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    703

    Default

    The attached link
    http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...&siteID=123112

    says VS 2012 should be used with AutoCAD 2015. Please confim that VS2017 is ok to use with
    AutoCAD 2015 APi wizzard. I have had probems mixing VS versions with the wrong versions of
    CAD before back in the days of VS 2010. It caused some headachs.

    Thank you,

  7. #7
    Super Member Tyke's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tyke's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 bit, W8 + W8.1 Vista
    Computer:
    HP Z400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB DDR3
    Primary Storage:
    2x 500GB HDD RAID 1 and Western Digital 2TB NAS RAID 1
    Secondary Storage:
    Lacie external HDD 2TB Raid Level 1
    Monitor:
    Samsung SyncMaster P2770HD, 2443 and 193T
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tyke's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor, programmer, civil engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Surveying and civil engineering. As built utilities surveys and data maintenance in GIS systems. Building surveys, measured and laser scanning. Setting out of all civil works. Control and settlement surveys. Programming in AutoCAD, MicroStation, Geograf and stand alone applications for all uses.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Saxony, Germany
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    VS 2017 Community will work with AutoCAD 2015 but the Wizard will not and there will be no intellisense. If you want to be safe then go to the link below and download Visual Studio Express 2012:

    https://www.visualstudio.com/vs/older-downloads/

    Best of luck.
    Ben
    Engage brain before mouth

    "The German who types with a Yorkshire accent" - Dave Broada 2o1o

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    703

    Default

    So I tried to load 2012 without luck from the above link.
    I clicked the 2012 button then log into MS my account
    All it get is "Sorry, we couldn't find any downloads for you"

    VS 2012 community is free, Is there a direct download of older versions of VS express or community without
    jumping through hoops in a Microsoft webpage?

    thank you,

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    703

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Will 2017 VS community work with AutoCAD 2018 without any problems?

Similar Threads

  1. Visual Studio express download for AutoCAD 2018?
    By muck in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th May 2017, 12:17 pm
  2. visual Studio 2012 c# connection with Autocad 2009
    By akonisbest in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2015, 06:29 am
  3. Cannot connect Visual Studio 2010 to 64 bit AutoCAD 1013.
    By muck in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2014, 08:37 pm
  4. visual Studio 2012 c# connection with Autocad 2009
    By Anil Samuel in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2013, 10:56 am
  5. Visual Studio 2013
    By jackiexii in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Aug 2012, 08:41 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts