+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 3D Execution

  1. #1
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default 3D Execution

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    Working with a youngster. He knows calculations but cant stand autocad. I told him its the best 2D and toughest 3D here. He is very strong in 2D workspace. I would like to know this too. Better to do drawings in 2D workspace then switching to 3D. I inadvertently do that from habit. I think 2D space is faster n better. Would rather hear/see other opinions over weekend. Happy Columbus Day! LoL.

  2. #2
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    646

    Default

    What's '2d workspace'? Modelsspace osnapz =1 works for me
    Paperspace is ONLY layout.
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    I suppose it would depend on what is being drawn. Example: Electrical schematic versus strutural steel building frame. The schematic would normally be drawn in 2D which makes perfect sense. On the other hand drawing the steel building frame in 3D then extracting the 2D views, in my opinion, would make more sense. Aren't cars and airplanes all designed in 3D right from the start?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    646

    Default

    I see 2D and 3D as different animals for different purposes (you should too ;-).
    They can love each other and work in perfect harmony, but ..
    in wrong hands and with different people having differenent feelings
    they is a possibility they can't stand eachother in the end.


    I like cats more than dogs, you?
    and some 2D vs. 3D discussions can turn into silly ones.



    Rob Snyder has some good views here !! Read them, share them

    https://tangerinefocus.com/2017/07/3...at-is-drawing/
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    "I think 2D space is faster n better."

    So you would rather draw multiple views of an object in 2D rather than create it in 3D and extract those same views?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    646

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    "I think 2D space is faster n better."

    So you would rather draw multiple views of an object in 2D rather than create it in 3D and extract those same views?


    Yep, ..

    Did you ever did the engineering of rebar design (in AutoCAD)?
    In my field of work extraction of views is very limited technology in both AutoCAD ánd Revit.
    Other software companies then Autodesk are at the forfront of this. Nemetchek and Trimble Tekla.
    So, i personally do mix a lot. Hence the undertitle in my replies ;-)
    But very often just 2D is indeed easier, gives better and for me is way faster, lighter!



    Like this messed up 2D /3D views, good 'drawing' contains 3D visuals and other sorts of 'views'.
    Attached Images
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    My question was directed at the OP. I also said "it depends on what one is drawing" as to whether or not 2D or 3D is better.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    646

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    .....
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

Similar Threads

  1. How to continue execution of the routine?
    By teknomatika in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th Oct 2012, 06:00 pm
  2. identify the execution of a command
    By rodrigo_sjc_sp in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2012, 03:00 pm
  3. Customizing user input during command execution
    By sekarr24 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st May 2010, 07:11 pm
  4. Lisp execution error...solution needed..
    By goldy2000 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Sep 2009, 11:15 am
  5. Exit without execution error (VBA - v2000i)
    By Joltremari in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2006, 12:24 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts