+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Autocad 2017 slow load on 3D only

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I have a small workshop where i make agricultural equipment.
    Setup was very primitive but recently Ive started going modern - and first thing is that Ive done is that I hired a engineer to convert my engineering drawings on paper to autocad.
    2D drawings were opening fine, but when he started submitting 3D- my laptop hangs when trying to open them. Here is what happens:
    -I open the file
    -CPU util touches 40-50%
    -RAM slowly starts to increase and goes upto 70%
    -Disk load isnt that high
    -After 15 minutes the file loads.

    I thought my laptop was under-powered so i thought of buying a Dell T5600 workstation (32 core, 32GB RAM, 2GB Quadro,) but when I went to the dealer to test it before buying- I got the same results as on my laptop. Took more than 10-12 mins to load. Just CPU util was low this time.

    My hunch is that the engineer did not optimise the drawing properly and there is some issue with his designing methods- and not an issue with autocad or the hardware.

    Im uploading the drawings here on Dropbox[ ] and Google Drive[ https://goo.gl/ZHJ5Tu ] (35 mins remaining for upload at the time of creation of this post)

    Kindly let me know what the engineer is doing wrong that is causing such heavy loading times even on powerful workstations.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    I only opened one of your files because, as you said, it takes about 15 minutes to open. Once the file opened, I started inspecting the model and I see a lot of problems with objects not lining up correctly as well as overlapping each other. That's not really an issue in terms of slow opening of the file though. That's just an observation which makes me think your engineer is not very savvy when it comes to 3D work.

    The main problem that I see is groups of objects that should have been combined as a single unit inside a block. For instance, you have lots of nuts, washers and bolts which are a collection of 5 different objects. Combining these 5 objects into a block means it's now only one object which can be copied around to other locations and Autocad only has to deal with the one block instance instead of hundreds of individual objects. Creating blocks for these groups of objects will keep your file sizes down and help Autocad perform better because the program will only have to deal with a few blocks instead of having to keep track of every single little object in the file. I believe these files could be heavily optimized which should drastically improve performance.

    FYI: I have moved your question to the 3D modeling section: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/forumd...-amp-Rendering
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    What kinds of file sizes are we talking here?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    What kinds of file sizes are we talking here?
    They range anywhere from 80mb to 175mb, depending on which ones you download.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    Yikes! I won't even bother trying to download or open one of them. All I have is 12GB of RAM on this system.

    der_sed: What steps have you taken to keep file sizes at a minimum up until this point?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    I have 24gb RAM on my computer and it took about 10 minutes to open one of his files that was around 95mb.

    I'm only guessing here, but I don't think der_sed has much Autocad experience, and from what I could tell, no steps were taken to keep the file sizes down. I purged the drawing that I opened and got the file size down to about 90mb. I also ran an Audit but there were no errors found. I think the models just need to be optimized, like I mentioned, by creating blocks of repetitive components. That would be a step in the right direction.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Im a total newbie. And my designer is also pretty amateur in Autocad.
    Ill ask him to use blocks and update this thread after he applies them.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    I'd love to see an image of the drawing that topped out at 185MB. Can you provide one? Could part of the problem also be related to the level of detail being shown? For example, are you showing the threads on your 3D bolts?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Yeah, I would like to see an image of the big file as well. Maybe I'll try to open it later when I can let Autocad sit and think about it for a while.

    The file I opened did have lots of nuts and bolts and the threads were shown on the bolts, so that's probably overkill on the level of detail, depending on how this model will be used. There were also lots of springs and other things that could be optimized.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  10. #10
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I do not get your RAM stuff. They do not even sell computers like that. This machine has 918 GB and its 7 years old
    Last edited by bjenk8100; 7th Oct 2017 at 12:55 am. Reason: misprint

Similar Threads

  1. Slow startup of autocad 2012 and 2017
    By rock1 in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 28th Aug 2017, 07:06 am
  2. AutoCAD 2017 Slow when moving blocks
    By Luis_M in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2017, 03:15 pm
  3. Autocad 2012 seems slow to load and crashes often
    By Abbyjay in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2011, 02:19 am
  4. Slow to load the plot screen
    By uhcafigdc in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2009, 12:55 pm
  5. Slow load dwg
    By SstennizZ in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2008, 11:33 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts