+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Civil
    AdrianR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Default Can't completely zoom in

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have many drawings where I try to zoom all the way into edit and it won't let me. I use the wheel to zoom. In the bottom left says "already zoomed in as far as possible". Is there a setting I can change or something I can do to be able to zoom it more? I am using AutoCAD Civil 3d 2014.
    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Try doing a REGEN or REGENALL.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Civil
    AdrianR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I've tried regen. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Super Member Tuns's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tuns's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64-bit)
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3-2120
    RAM:
    4.0 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    784

    Default

    I have a similar issue, except that I can't zoom all the way out sometimes. I will never understand why that is though. You could use zoom window to zoom in closer.
    Never argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    I know that LIMITS sometimes messes with the Zoom-Out issue, but I can't see how it should affect the Zoom-In issue.

    That said, I sometimes have this problem as well, a regen often works but not always, and I always have LImits off - so I have chalked it down to One Of Those Things.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  6. #6
    Super Member Tuns's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tuns's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64-bit)
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3-2120
    RAM:
    4.0 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    784

    Default

    Turning limits off will solve it? I wonder why that would be. Auto Desk please.
    Never argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Civil
    AdrianR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I've turned limits off and tried every zoom command, it still won't let me zoom all the way in!

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Is it possibly a matter of perception that you are not zoomed in far enough. On the display screen the lines don't get any thicker as you zoom in or out, even if you have "display lineweights" turned on. In fact they stay a constant thickness. I just zoomed in fully on the lower left corner of a 13" rectangle. Once the other three corners of the rectangle disappeared off screen, there were no visual cues to tell me how far I was zoomed in on the one corner. I took a DIST of how much of the lines I could still see. The result was 0.00008 vertical and 0.00011 horizontal. That is pretty zoomed in.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #9
    Super Member Tuns's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tuns's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64-bit)
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3-2120
    RAM:
    4.0 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    784

    Default

    Can you take a screen shot to show us how far you are able to zoom in?
    Never argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Civil
    AdrianR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I don't think that's it. This is as close as I can get.
    Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. Completely lost
    By Quick Karl in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2012, 03:11 pm
  2. zoom extends doesn't zoom completely (hidden objects issue)
    By khoshravan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2011, 06:21 am
  3. completely new
    By Precursor in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2005, 09:04 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts