+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Remove Material

  1. #1
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Remove Material

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I made some CMU's into blocks. I then added material. I wanted to remove material so it would not display under realistic view. I did so in block editor with with remove material tool. That worked fine. Just out of compulsive/impulsive I want it out of my 3D visualization material drop down in properties palette. That possible? The list might get large. Also, I take it those materials that come with autocad that are locked cannot be renamed? Any help is appreciated!

    Tnx

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Open your Materials Browser, RMAT command. Then right click the material you want to edit. You can choose to Rename, Delete, etc.

    Disclaimer: This works in 2014. I don't know how the Materials Browser works in 2018.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,720

    Default

    You can Purge unreferenced Materials as well.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default

    PURGE worked well. Still cant rename. I am use to duplicating with a lot of programs and then you can edit but do not see that option. Many programs do not let you rename stock items. Never really used autocad for this before. Mostly just 2D with lots of layers. You can see rename option with the right click grayed out. https://imgur.com/a/Y8JnH

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    You can see rename option with the right click grayed out.
    You have to add the material to your drawing before you can rename it.
    Attached Images
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Remove Material Assignment from Part
    By acadcandace in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th May 2016, 05:19 pm
  2. Missing material preview in Material editor
    By Raudel Solis in forum UVW Mapping, Textures & Materials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2013, 10:05 pm
  3. Remove Duplicates (remove both the duplicate and the original)
    By lasersocks in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th Oct 2011, 12:59 am
  4. Material
    By ankurpraja in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Aug 2008, 03:05 pm
  5. How to remove corner radiuses in views; to remove confusing double lines in layout
    By nbaryosef in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2008, 12:06 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts