+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Array problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12

    Default Array problem

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi All,


    trying to draw something using path array.


    I've attached part of the drawing. I want the objects to have a 2mm space between them.


    any how or info on how to do this would be hugely greatful
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    I see a couple of problems. 1) The path is not continuous (i.e. - it is a series of separate lines and arcs). 2) The first, short, line segment does not connect to the first arc segment.

    Why do you want such a small space between the objects given the shape of your 3D solid (identified as a "car_top")?

    I would recommend that you first move the line segment into the proper position. Next I would use the PEDIT or JOIN command to make your lines and arcs (I think there is even a single lightweight polyline too) into one continuous polyline. Reposition the car top relative to the beginning of the line and invoke the ARRAY command.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Here's what I was able to accomplish. For the sake of clarity I made the path layer white and the car_top layer magenta. Having both objects the same dark color just doesn't work for me.

    Top down view in 2Dwireframe visual style.

    A portion of the array along the path.
    Snakearray1.jpg

    Closeup of array in a straight segment of the path.
    Snakearray2.jpg

    Closeup of array at beginning of path. See what is happening with the corners of the "car_top" as it makes the turn?
    Snakearray3.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thanks for the input ReMark. I see what you mean by the corners.


    This is a segment of a piece of machinery I seen. It's a carousel, which is a loop around a warehouse.


    If I move the base point, would it prevent the corners overlapping?

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I think the separation distance is too small. You specified 2mm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with Path Array
    By basM in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2016, 06:45 pm
  2. Problem with Polar Array
    By gotchy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2013, 05:33 pm
  3. ARRAY Problem
    By provas_ce in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2013, 06:03 pm
  4. Angle of array problem
    By Andre in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Aug 2010, 02:45 am
  5. array problem
    By MMS in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd Mar 2007, 02:40 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts