+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Townsville, NQ, Australia
    Posts
    32

    Default Problem with practice exercise

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello, I purchased some beginner practice exercises, and on the attached exercise I am having trouble drawing the top LH side, positioning the R5 and R3 circles, and then the R10 arc.

    Would anyone advise if I have enough information to do this?

    kind regards,

    PJ
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    I would draw all three as full circles first starting with R5 and R3. When it comes time to draw R10 use the Tan-Tan-Radius option of the Circle command then use the Trim command to clean things up.

    Before and after. Oops. Wrong radius shown at bottom left. I'll fix it. See post below.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by ReMark; 20th Oct 2017 at 01:36 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,795

    Default

    There is no height location for the R5 nor any information for R10 location.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    There is no height location for the R5 nor any information for R10 location.
    I had no trouble laying it out. I started at the circle with the radius of 3 and worked clockwise.

    Oops. Just realized I used the wrong radius at bottom left corner.

    OK. Fixed it and added dims.

    r3r5r10fixed.jpg

    I used a metric template file hence the < , > symbol instead of the < . > symbol.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Townsville, NQ, Australia
    Posts
    32

    Default

    The centre co-ordinates of the R3 circle are easily determined, but the centre co-ordinates for the R5 circle are indeterminate. Once these two circles are drawn it would be easy to draw a R10 circle tangent to these, as suggested above.

    Any suggestions on how to position the R5 circle please?

    Also, the above drawings have different shape for the touching of the R10 arc and the R3 circle to what is shown on the Exercise drawing. It does not touch at the horizontal diameter line of the R3 circle as the replies have all shown

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,795

    Default

    Here is my best guess at it.
    Attached Images
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #7
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,795

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I had no trouble laying it out. I started at the circle with the radius of 3 and worked clockwise.

    Oops. Just realized I used the wrong radius at bottom left corner.

    OK. Fixed it and added dims.

    Attachment 62472

    I used a metric template file hence the < , > symbol instead of the < . > symbol.
    But, you are still just guessing where the R5 and the R10 are located. The R10 is clearly not drawn on the Quadrants of the R5 and R3 as you have them
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    The center of R5 in the X direction is 20.4+10.8 = 31.2 - 5.0 = 26.2.

    R5's position is fixed in the X direction but you are right, it could be higher, or it could be lower in the Y direction than what I show.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Townsville, NQ, Australia
    Posts
    32

    Default

    I agree that you cannot determine the co-ordinates of the centre of the R5 circle, but once the R5 and R3 circles are positioned, it is easy to do a tan-tan- radius circle to connect these

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Townsville, NQ, Australia
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The center of R5 in the X direction is 20.4+10.8 = 31.2 - 5.0 = 26.2.
    Thanks ReMark, but what is the vertical distance (Y direction) for the centre of the R5 circle

Similar Threads

  1. Exercise files
    By Akitirija in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Oct 2014, 01:55 pm
  2. Problem Solving Exercise- Confusing!
    By AutoCADBeginner in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 3rd Mar 2014, 03:56 am
  3. AutoCAD Exercise
    By Manic_d in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th Jul 2009, 10:23 pm
  4. Exercise
    By welnias in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Aug 2008, 03:51 pm
  5. Table exercise problem and q about 3dface??
    By umitbat in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2003, 10:07 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts