+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    bell531's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkCentre
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New Plymouth, New Zealand.
    Posts
    21

    Default Rotate viewport so objects in model space are square to paper space.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is there a better way of doing this.
    Currently I grab the viewport ROTATE then REFERENCE the object in modelspace then use POINTS to choose something in paperspace (e.g. the drawing border).
    Then I reshape the rotated viewport with the grips to suit my paperspace.
    I am using AutoCAD LT 2012.
    I don't want the UCS changed globaly. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,130

    Default

    I don't know LT, can you save a custom UCS? Apply it temporarily, activate it inside the viewport, and go back to World afterward. Use the PLAN command to orient the drawing to the UCS.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    bell531's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkCentre
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New Plymouth, New Zealand.
    Posts
    21

    Default

    It took me a bit of time to explore the options, I work in civil construction so the geographic coordinates are crucial. Good bit of learning, thanks for putting me in the right direction.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    We trurn our road works around all the time in layouts, so orientate along sheet, normally use the UCS OB option for pick object, often give it a name also UCS S Road handy if you want to use it again. Just be carefull if using object that it does not have differring Z values as this scews up the UCS. At any time you can always go to like Cyberangel UCS W to get real world co-ordinates.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    bell531's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkCentre
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New Plymouth, New Zealand.
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Thanks BIGAL,
    Good points there, I do use the z sometimes otherwise in the absense of FLATTEN in LT i use a little custom button I learned somewhere. Shame i'm stuck on Acad LT. I wish I had BricsCAD, then I could pick up some useful lisps and buy a modest add on for Earthworks volumes and still have money left over. Maybe one day.

  6. #6
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,130

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by bell531 View Post
    It took me a bit of time to explore the options, I work in civil construction so the geographic coordinates are crucial. Good bit of learning, thanks for putting me in the right direction.
    AutoCAD has quite the learning curve, but once you get past it, you've got a lot of power at your disposal.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

Similar Threads

  1. rotate content in model space viewported in paper space
    By cat3appr in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Apr 2017, 03:45 am
  2. Send all objects on certain layer from paper space into model space.
    By gaddyzt in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2014, 06:51 pm
  3. Bring Paper Space object through Viewport into Model Space
    By karenreeves in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th Nov 2011, 08:58 pm
  4. rotate view in paper space but not model
    By paul1966 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2010, 10:41 am
  5. Moving objects from paper space to model space
    By schneeflocke in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2009, 09:19 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts