+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Townsville, NQ, Australia
    Posts
    32

    Default Scaling in Model and Paper space

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have done an exercise in Model Space, with scale 1:2, and I have Formatted the Points to be 2mm, which is a good size for the model space drawing ( attached), and stored this in the template I use

    When looking at the Paper Space Viewport, as the same scale, the Point Format is way too large ( see attached)

    Can anyone please advise why this is so, and what I should do to prevent it happening now, and in future drawings

    regards to all

    PJ
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    645

    Default

    What is the current annoscale in modelspace?
    I believe it should display the same if they are identical.
    I prefer using annotative blocks for better control on paper.
    Use points only for modelling..
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Objects that can be annotative include:

    Text
    Blocks & attribute definitions
    Hatches
    Dimensions & dimension styles
    Geometric tolerances
    Multileaders & multileader styles

    What benefit is derived from having a point on an object that could just as easily be accessed via an osnap setting like center or midpoint?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,973

    Default

    Why are you drawing to a scale in modelspace?
    Everything should be drawn full sized in modelspace 1:1 .

    Do whatever scaling you want to do, later, through your viewport.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Objects that can be annotative include:

    Text
    Blocks & attribute definitions
    Hatches
    Dimensions & dimension styles
    Geometric tolerances
    Multileaders & multileader styles

    What benefit is derived from having a point on an object that could just as easily be accessed via an osnap setting like center or midpoint?
    Points are wonderful for retrieving xyz with a attached fields. But you better have them in a block
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    The question was directed at the OP.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Sounds familiar
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    PJ01: What is PDSIZE set to?

    PDSIZE settings.JPG
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Townsville, NQ, Australia
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Why are you drawing to a scale in modelspace?
    Everything should be drawn full sized in modelspace 1:1 .
    Yes !! Thanks for that comment. I meant to post this in Beginners, but landed here by mistake late at night.

    My custom template , when opened, gave a model space scale of 1:2, and I never noticed this. Have fixed that, and the scaling of the Points in the Paper Space (Layout) returned to normal too. I have selected the Point format to be 2%, not 2mm as stated above.

    I like using POINT command to give key point locations before drawing any lines and circles, especially using Relative command. I suppose that I could use relative command for placement of circles too, but still in the beginner stage, and open to any suggestions on how to approach a drawing

    thanks all for your comments, much appreciated

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,703

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The modelspace scale? You mean the modelspace annotative scale, correct? This scale, shown below, does not change the scale of the objects in modelspace. It only simulates what your annotative objects will look like in a viewport. It is used to facilitate placing, and spacing dimensions, leaders, and notes, and any other annotative objects nicely so they will look good and not obscure any modeled objects once they get to a viewport scaled to the SAME scale as your modelspace annotative (viewing) scale.

    I use annotative dimensions, leaders, mtext, and the like. My work requires multiple sheets with multiple viewports set to many different scales. When I go to set my annotative dimensions in modelspace, I make sure to set my modelspace annotative scale to the same scale I intend to use in my viewport.
    Attached Images
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Scaling Problems!?! Model/Paper Space
    By katherine1992 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st Feb 2017, 05:29 pm
  2. Fill color model space versus paper space.. newb question
    By dan_m in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2014, 09:06 am
  3. Acad 2010 - Text size changes in model space behave as if in paper space.
    By Trickinitup in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2011, 03:44 am
  4. HELP! Model/Paper Space Scaling Incorrect
    By beck08 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Sep 2010, 12:13 pm
  5. AcadPViewport2 - Deleting items in model space that aren't seen inside paper space
    By lovemy65stang in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2009, 05:26 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts