Need help with block insertion and ideas for auto-dimensioning.

aschiffer

Hey. I'm a novice as far as automating things in CAD and was wondering how difficult it would be to implement two things which would save me a heck of a lot of time.

1) I currently have to copy/paste a certain block to the midpoint of a bunch of line segments that exist on the same layer. Is it possible to populate these blocks at the midpoint of every line segment that exists on a specific layer?

2) Is there a method for dimensioning a bunch of line segments of a polyline automatically? I'm thinking something akin to clicking on the inside of a shape composed of a bunch of lines (sort of like when using the bpoly command) and rather than having it just return a polyline, it would also create aligned dimensions associated with the different line segments.

I apologize if either of these get asked about a lot, my AutoCAD knowledge is fairly basic and I'm just now exploring the idea that there's a better way to do things.

Thanks for any responses!

1 very doable there was a post a few days ago about labeling lines it may have been Grr that provided a pretty good answer.

2 just search again its been posted here multiple times, Lee-mac,com has a nice one that produces all the properties of a pline.