+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20

    Default Issues Rotating Object in 3D

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I've been at this for some time but for some reason my CAD is acting up on me today and making me feel stupid. I model up a shape in top view. I then to get right side view to rotate the object down but for some reason autocad will not allow it. The object just flicks back and forth from the left to the right of the screen. Anybody have a fix for this? I'm under a time crunch. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Can you attach a copy of the drawing? Need a .dwg not an image file. If the file size is too large upload to a file sharing website like DropBox and post a link to it here.

    Did you solve your problem? Never heard back from you.
    Last edited by ReMark; 31st Oct 2017 at 12:48 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,795

    Default

    Are you using AutoCAD 2008?

    How are you changing to side view?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Super Member marko_ribar's Avatar
    Computer Details
    marko_ribar's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Computer:
    Intel quad core CPU 4x2.66GHz, 8GB RAM
    Motherboard:
    INTEL compatibile
    CPU:
    quad core 4x2.66GHz
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT
    Primary Storage:
    250 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    500 GB
    Monitor:
    Samsung 17''
    Discipline
    Architectural
    marko_ribar's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architecture, project designer, project visualisation
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    space design - modeling and animations
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia, Europe
    Posts
    1,224

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Perhaps, after you changed from top view to side view, you forgot to set UCS to be aligned with new side view... So command is UCS -> V...

    Marko Ribar, d.i.a. (graduated engineer of architecture)
    M.R. on YouTube

Similar Threads

  1. Rotating an object that is already on an angle
    By CadYouDigIt in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th May 2017, 02:18 pm
  2. Need help rotating an object
    By knattagh in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2014, 03:02 pm
  3. Rotating 2D object to 'look' 3D?
    By CAUSE4ALARM in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2010, 03:29 am
  4. Rotating and object to a plane
    By BenGoble in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2010, 12:22 pm
  5. Rotating OLE Object
    By MS-S in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2008, 04:22 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts