+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member kippax's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    178

    Default Blocks and attributes / tags

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a drawing with multiple blocks that haves associated text.


    All items in the block are on the same layer and they are also inserted into the drawing on the same layer in which they are created.


    The associated text has been edited in the block editor to ensure that the text type and colour is consistent across the drawing.


    However, when the block is inserted both the colour and type of text varies.


    I can select each individual block and edit these properties, but there are hundreds of them on the drawing. Why doesn't it come in as selected in the block editor?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,796

    Default

    Hard to say without seeing the blocks and the drawing they are being inserted into.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    After editing the block in the block editor and returning to the drawing did you run the ATTSYNC command?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Senior Member kippax's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    178

    Default

    OK sorted this now ..... Block re-constructed in Layer 0...


    ... and then REMEMBERED THE ATTSYNC COMMAND.


    Think I have had reminders about exactly this before .... and possibly from your good self ReMark.


    I am officially an "NoMark".

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Add the command to your AutoCAD Tips and Tricks list.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Change Attribute Tags for Blocks using Lisp
    By hosannabizarre in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2017, 02:34 pm
  2. TEXT, TAGS, Attributes to export from Autocad file to EXCEL from dos command.
    By RavindraMVK in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26th Jun 2015, 11:31 pm
  3. insert block with tags (attributes)
    By rodrigo_sjc_sp in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th Aug 2013, 07:04 pm
  4. A Few Interesting Questions… Tags, Blocks, Leaders...
    By xspacex in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Mar 2010, 10:37 pm
  5. Many Attdribute Tags in Blocks (Editing)
    By Cad Guy in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st Oct 2009, 10:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts