+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Full Member Saqib_theleo's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    91

    Question How I can make 3d pipe according to these drawings?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello everyone, I can make simple 3d objects but I don't know how to make 3d pipe as showing in this drawing. Simple 3d pipe is simple by making a circle and sweep it around the Poly line, but if someone can guide me how can I make this kind of 3d pipe I'll be thankful. Thanks.
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,821

    Default

    A pipe is one of the easiest just draw a circle use rotate3d to align it to the end of say a 3dpoly then just extrude and use Path Z's are supported.
    Attached Images
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    This illustrates a step by step method to get the compound bend pipe run. I assumed the elbow radius to be 5 at all bends.
    Attached Images
    Attached Files

  4. #4
    Full Member Saqib_theleo's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Hi SEANT, Thanks for your help, I tried to follow these steps you used, Step 1 to 3 are easy but after Surface Extrusion I could not get the Intersecting Line (required 3d path) by Intersect command. Can you please tell how did you do that and did you use radius command after getting 3D path. Hi Bigal, Yes making 3d pipe is simple but I was looking for the 3d path from these two lines. Thanks.
    Last edited by Saqib_theleo; 5th Nov 2017 at 11:56 am.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,456

    Default

    Check your drawing and make sure the extruded surfaces actually intersect with each other prior to invoking the command. My guess is your extrusion of the top view is in the wrong direction. Why is the overall length of the pipe (end to end) different in the two views? The length in the top view is shorter than the length in the side view.

    Extruded surfaces.jpg
    Last edited by ReMark; 5th Nov 2017 at 12:19 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    I used AutoCAD 2016 for the intersection - I'm not sure if AutoCAD 2010's Intersect command is compatible with Surfaces. And yes, I did reorient the UCS to create the fillets. Each individual path was then used to sweep a solid.

  7. #7
    Full Member Saqib_theleo's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Hi ReMark, yes length is little shorter I didn't notice but not big problem, I just wanted to learn the procedure to make it this way and my extruded surfaces are intersecting with each other. Thanks.

  8. #8
    Full Member Saqib_theleo's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Hi SEANT, ok but right now am using laptop where CAD2007 is installed. I'll try this with some later version and one last thing did you use 3 point UCS to reorient the UCS.Thanks.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Saqib_theleo View Post
    . . . . did you use 3 point UCS to reorient the UCS . . . .
    Indeed, I did.

  10. #10
    Full Member Saqib_theleo's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Alright, thank you for your time and help for making me understand these things. GBY.

Similar Threads

  1. How to make Pressure Pipe not see through from plan view
    By jchandler5008 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2014, 09:48 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Feb 2013, 10:20 am
  3. Question Help: Make 2d pipe with program lisp
    By deco_sakurai in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2012, 03:16 am
  4. Help to make Pipe in 2d double line
    By sayhi_sanjay1 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th Jul 2012, 12:59 pm
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Sep 2010, 09:50 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts